Writing Crazy

I feel every writer has hit a wall. You know, a block? Well, writers block, the all too familiar term to a writer. It’s a term that can cause a person of imagery, creation, free spirit, to curl up in a ball and cry. It’s a phrase that a writer hears and does everything but hiss and claw at the air around them. It can break down a writer within even a few hours. Oh it is a painful thing. I expected it to happen to me at some point in my years of being a writer, and shocker, guess what, it still hasn’t happened. I am going through some sort of phase I believe. It’s one that I don’t really have a name for yet. It’s a stage that I really haven’t heard of many writers going through, although I’m sure it is more common than I believe it to be.
I am going every direction but what feels like the right one. I am writing one thing one day and another thing the next! It is like I have gone writing crazy! I do eleven chapters of a new novel for one week, do seven chapters of an old the next, and then five more chapters of a novel I plan on re-writing later. It is like my writers brain has maybe lost a few screws, or maybe a wire needs to be taped back into place. All I know is that I am bouncing from one story to the next, but yet, having an insanely good time doing it. Working with this character there, that character over here, and this one right there, one by one knocking them down only to have them get back up stronger. I don’t think I’ve ever felt something like this before.
It has been going on for about three weeks now, and I feel like I have become almost a new kind of writer. At first, I was a little worried that this rapid fire state I was in was a bad sign, but as it has continued on, I have found my creative river flowing so much faster, so much stronger, and so much more often. I have this fresh feeling to my mind, one that I haven’t been familiar with for a while. I am even writing one thing on my desktop PC and the other on my MacBook. Two different devices! Now if that isn’t wild I don’t know what is! I really can’t complain. I see this as a part of my path to become a writer, as a test run almost, conducted by my own subconscious. Just another part of being in the arts, I suppose, and having a nonstop working mind track. It really has been fun, and I think I’m okay with it lasting a while longer. Well, not too, too long.

Posted on May 14, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh my gosh, I have the same issue! I’m working on…at least ten different projects right now, I just came up with an idea for a new story in bed last night and my poetry is-aah!

  2. Wow. Lucky you! I have no urge to write anything at all. That’s good that you write a lot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

