NAPOWRIMO DAY #23

Today’s prompt:
Today’s prompt comes from Rhiannon:
Many people collect favourite images, whether as memories or posters, sketches or computer files. Pick one such collection of yours – a stamp collection, a postcard book, a file of photos – and rifle through it until something catches your eye. (If you don’t have such a collection, try putting a word – any word – into Google image search or flick through the website of an art gallery.)

Once you have an image, begin to interrogate it for poems. Ask: Who or what in this picture could speak? What would they say? Why is this image meaningful to me? When I look at it, what am I remembering? How does this image make me feel? Which of my moods is easiest to find in it? Where would I want to display picture? Who do I want to see it?

Collect the answers to your questions as a hoard of words or phrases. Scatter them across a blank sheet of paper, then check for patterns. What rhymes? Where is there alliteration? Is any rhythm apparent? Patterns might suggest a form for the poem.

If there aren’t enough patterns, you have two choices: either write your poem as free verse or go back to the images and generate more words. Have fun!

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Read the NaPoWriMo Challenge Kickoff post for details on how the challenge works and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April.

Please read this page to find out how the prompt posts work. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This poem is about an experiment I did for my Science Fair project last week. You probably won’t get it, but it makes more sense if you did the experiment.

    Materials occupy the counters,
    Bowls, bottles, and cereals galore.
    They’re for my science experiment,
    Now is the time to explore!

    My main utensil, the blender,
    Sits tall and stern by my side.
    Gloppy goop I make in it,
    Boy has the cereal gone for a ride!

    Then I pass it through a bottle,
    With a small magnet taped to the end.
    “Come on experiment, work with me!
    Just act like you’re my friend!”

    And it went as planned,
    The iron did appear.
    In the end I realized,
    There was nothing to fear.

