Writing Prompt by Lauren

Start your piece with the line: It wasn’t until I was ten that I realized the portraits of my ancestors weren’t supposed to move.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on January 31, 2014, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. It wasn’t until I was ten that I realized the portraits of my ancestors weren’t supposed to move. I’m not sure what took me so long to notice. But I’ll never forget my tenth birthday- my family was around the table, singing Happy Birthday before I blew out the candles that were on my princess cake. All of a sudden, I noticed the picture of Grammie Matilda come to life. Her lips muttered, “Happy Birthday Karen”. Of course, I absolutely panicked at that moment, and mom sat with me for about an hour afterwards. After all, she had ten years of explaining to do.

    Looking back at this incident from six years ago, I think it was for my own good that I did not know about my powers until I was ten. You see, we’re prygenthians. That means that we never die. Once we reach a certain age, we are confined to a picture frame. However, only other prygenthians can still speak to the pictures of their ancestors. My brothers and I can speak to past family, but my parents cannot. My mother used to have this ability, but she gave up her prygenthian powers to marry my father, since a mortal and a prygenthian cannot be together. It may seem like a harsh decree, but that’s just the way it is.

    My brother Keon is twenty-two. He’s dating Vanessa, a really nice girl from college. Thankfully, the Prygenthian Council hasn’t found out about their relationship yet, or they would split them up for good. Vanessa doesn’t know that Keon is a prygenthian. Keon is thinking of telling her soon… I wonder how that will go.

    My other brother, Kevin, is eleven years old. It’s still hard for him to keep his prygenthian powers a secret. We’ve had to “save” him plenty of times, by making up lies to disenchant his curious friends.

    I stopped it at sort of an awkward moment. But the timer was up, so I had to stop writing!

    • Tamar, if you do continue, could you email me what you add? I just love how you have taken this idea (which is also an idea I used for my own story The Moving Pictures. I’ve kinda stopped that story since I have an amazing idea I can’t wait to use.)

  2. I have a question. How can we write our ideas for writing prompts for here?

  3. Tamar, that is just amazing! -squeals- I’m actually happy someone responded to my prompt and all! I am actually writing a story about moving pictures. It’s focused on angels and stuff! That is a really good beginning! You should continue the story!

  4. It wasn’t until I was ten that I realized the portraits of my ancestors weren’t supposed to move. My great-grandfather, Winston Harold, and my great-great grandmother, Madame Hester Lillian, had hung on our walls since before my mother was born. We lived in our family’s house, passed down through five generations.
    Every night, I walked the long hallway, where my great-grands were, and watched them move, talking soundlessly to one another. Until I had to push my eyelids open, I would watch them, wondering what they said, and why I couldn’t hear them. That is, until last night.
    “Celeste, what are you doing?”
    My heartbeat caught in my throat at the sudden noise. Trey was leaning against the wall, searing guilt into my eyes.
    “Nothing.”
    “Yeah, right. I’ve been watching you for a while now. Why you keep staring at those portraits?”
    “Because they talk to each other.”
    My brother rolled his eyes. “And I’m a famous actor.”

    • I really want to know more! Hiya, I’m the person who wrote the prompt. (Don’t ask. Aviline is my pen name…) This is such an amazing continuation of the sentence! Do continue!

  5. Thanks, aviline!

