Shreddings by Cristi

There was once a girl who, instead of wanting to be a princess or a
Fairy like the other girls, she
Wanted to be an artist.
At four years old, she took out her paint and painted.
And every day, after she finished her painting,
She would rip it up and put it in the waist bin.
Because it didn’t look like a masterpiece.

There was once a boy
Who watched the artist.
Ever since the first day, twelve years ago, when the girl first
Shredded her painting, he watched her, and every night, when everyone else was
Asleep, the boy found those shreddings and taped them back together carefully, then
Pasted the paintings on his wall.
It looked like a masterpiece.

There was once a time,
When the girl who wanted to be an artist stopped painting because a boy her age came
Up to her and told her to follow him.
The boy took her to his wall and told her to look Around. Every inch of the wall was covered in strangely familiar paintings that had
Obviously been ripped apart, then taped back together.
She recognized the paintings,
Slowly admiring them. They were her shredded paintings that the boy put up.
She realized that the moment strangely felt to her like a fairytale, but this time, she didn’t
Have to be a princess.
She looked at the wall, and the boy called her an artist, because it
Looked like a masterpiece.

Posted on February 3, 2014, in Student Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I know this one! I made the layout of Shreddings for the Once Upon a Time edition of Virge. Cool! πŸ™‚

  2. Oh my goodness. This is beautiful. Amazing. It’s so amazing I feel like I should cry.

  3. Yay, my poem is up! Thank you for posting!! πŸ™‚

  4. Wow, I really liked the ending, amazing, good job.

  5. I love this! Absolutely beautiful poetry.

  6. That’s awesome!

  7. This is neat! I really like it!

  8. You’re welcome Cristi! What do you like to write the best? I love writing all sorts of things- essays, poems, short stories…etc! πŸ™‚

  9. Great story, Cristi! There’s always someone who can see the best in something. πŸ™‚

  10. That’s cool! I like writing stories- sometimes they turn out novels, and sometimes they turn out shorter! That’s what I meant πŸ˜‰ Anyways, you’re a really good writer! πŸ™‚

  11. Aw haha thanks, Hannah!! πŸ˜€

  12. Oh my goodness, I read this in the Virge (I think) and it was amazing. I just re-read it and its even more beautiful! You are an awesome writer Cristi! How did you come up with the story behind the poem? I’m just curious.

