Writing Prompt by Cheyenne

Write a scene where you character is coming up with their new years resolutions.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I pick up a pen. My fingers are impatiently waiting for the pen to move. What do I write? My brain churns with all of my thoughts. I just can’t pick and choose the ones that I will do.
    Here is what I have:

    You see, I have nothing yet. I can’t decide on what I could do that would really make a difference, and that I could actually accomplish. So this is what I decide. I don’t know that I would have been able to accomplish all of my New Year’s Resolutions. However, I do know that no matter what, I could make a difference to someone’s life. People every day are depressed, lonely, and feeling unloved. So this is what I then write: “Smile! God Loves You!” As I attach this message to a balloon and it floats away, I know someone… someone will be cheered by this message and have a happier day.

  2. The sun is beaming through my window when I sit at my desk, journal in hand. My pencil scribbles hello to the blank white pages. Finally, it’s time for my New Year’s resolutions. Everything that I want to be, need to be, and can be will be listed in my journal–as soon as I figure out what those things are.
    The thing about resolutions is, they are solving something again. And again, and again. For years now, I keep meaning to improve myself, my actions, my thoughts, my feelings, but it never happens. One month passes by, and half of my resolutions are dead. Two months pass, and I’m back to my old, impatient self.
    Mom says I need to work on patience, Dad says I need self-control, and my brothers say to stay out of their junk. But how am I going to achieve any of that if I can’t even keep my room clean for a week?
    Minutes pass. I’m sure I hear my pencil sigh at my lack of progress. It’s just so hard to begin. Everything I ever tried to resolve comes back to haunt me. What’s the use of a resolution if nothing actually gets done?
    The sun is getting lower in the sky, no longer providing me with happy rays of light. Even some faraway star has given up on me. I drop my head into my hands.
    Before I know it, Kenny shakes me awake. Must’ve dozed off. It’s time for dinner, so my resolutions will have to wait.
    I wave him off, then quickly scribble a word. Turning off the light, I smile to myself. Determination is my resolution.

