Writing Prompt by Natalie

A natural disaster hits an area. Write as if you were reporting to a news station the devastation it caused.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments!

Posted on February 6, 2014, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Dear: Metro News 1

    The area was now desolate. Were tall buildings and towers stood, gravel and dirt took their place. There were less than twenty survivors, each sustaining severe injuries, even likely to pass within a few days. Imagine, one day your family is happy and content, hopeful for the future. You live day by day, never thinking that things can change; never thinking your whole life could be taken from you within a few hours.
    I was sleeping, it was a little past dawn and my mother was already awake cooking breakfast for my father. I rolled out of bed, not realizing the terror that awaited me. The trip down the stairs was a bit scary since my eyes were still hazy from sleep. A light tremor crept up my spine, resembling a shiver as if I was cold. And that is the last thing I remember, the last memory I had of my home, of my family before they became non-existent. An earthquake had destroyed the town of Los Angeles along with ninety – five percent of it’s population. I needed help, shelter and food and this experience truly tested my will to live. Remember this earthquake that occurred three years ago on it’s anniversary this upcoming weekend.

    – Sincerely
    One of the lucky survivors

  2. We could see the destruction of the tsunami before we even approached the shore. Rather, it’s what we didn’t see. The waves, once ferocious and deadly, lapped gently onto the eroded shore. The island itself was nearly completely leveled, like it had been flattened with a heavy book. Trees had been pressed into the sand, like a dry flower is imprinted onto a page. We couldn’t even follow the roads; huge mountains of debris covered any sign of asphalt, and all landmarks were destroyed. One man took me to the former site of his home. Precariously picking our way through his yard, we approached his house. Except, nothing was there. No walls stood, plumbing was exposed, no personal artifacts remained. He told us that he had been on a construction job when the tsunami warnings sounded, and prayed to God that his family–a wife and infant daughter–were safe. As we continued in our exploration, we met a few more stragglers, all asking us if any friend or relative had been seen. It made my heart burn with pain to see their expressions of panic. Here on the mainland, at least we could escape to higher ground. Yes, we lost homes and possessions, but at least we had each other. What was it like to lose your mother, husband, or friend?

    Ten minutes up!

