Apology by Samantha

If I had to count the number of times in a day I apologize
I would need the entire knitting club’s sets of hands
They would weave strands of “sorrys” into pretty patterns
And hand over scarves of re-wording and thoughtful glances of fake regret
For you to pick out your favorite color of delivery –

But I am cold in the icy wind, bare to nature
Vulnerable
Yet my strength keeps me alive
And you sit comfortably on a yarn blanket:
You might even strip off a set of gloves to count how many ways
You can make a new pattern –

And the hands begin knitting again.

Posted on February 14, 2014, in Student Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow. Amazing. Fantastic. You have a gift, Samantha!

  2. This is tragically beautiful. You’re an amazing writer!

