Your Boring Life

I’ve always wondered if there’s something else to the books I read once I’ve finished them, if maybe the author was trying to tell me something more than just the character conflicts and struggles. What if those conflicts and struggles were, at one time, something the writer went through? What if that really annoying girl with the green hair or that boy with the dark eyes were people the writer knew? Writing using real-life experiences can build more depth and realistic qualities for your novel, and hook your readers even tighter into what you’ve produced. Now I’m sure you’re thinking: “My life is so boring. Who would want to read a book about it?” The answer? Everybody. Writers like Anne Rice, Stephen King, and Dean Koontz have used real-life experiences to fall back on in their books. Stephen King happened to be in a car crash, and what did that experience give him? The novel “Misery.” So now you’re probably saying: “Cheyenne, stop rambling and tell me the writing technique already!” It’s actually quite simple. Think about the story you’re trying to write. Is it horrific, adventurous, romantic? Could it be comedic, dramatic, or thrilling? By knowing the genre you want, you’re already halfway there to incorporating your real life experiences. For example, if it’s romantic, think about that special someone you were in love with, or what happened when you were dumped. Maybe you and your boyfriend/girlfriend got into a fight and the guy punched the drywall while the girl threw a roll of paper towels at him (No that is not one of my real life occurrences; just an example). Use all those “boring” or subconscious thoughts to give your plot personality and purpose. For more information on this writing technique, visit creative-writing-help.com.

Posted on March 12, 2014, in Editorial Board Essay. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Totally agree! I have had many “boring” experiences, and some crazy ones (nearly drowning, being on the radio), so I will definitely draw from my life when I write books. 🙂

    • My goodness Alexis that was a real life event? 😮 I’d like to see what your boring life experiences look like. LOL!

      • Yep! And to this day…I still haven’t learned how to swim. :p

        Boring experience: Stepped in a giant fire ant hill…in two different years..while wearing the same sandals. Yeah, that’s me.

  2. By the way, I have watched that movie before, and *gosh* I feel so bad for that man. Makes me want to cry when she burns his story. Oh, and don’t forget that scene…(anyone who has watched that movie knows what I am talking about).

  3. This is a good idea. I’m gonna try this.

    • Glad you will consider this Téa! Thank you as well, Megan. I love all the feedback I’m getting from you all. 😀

  4. Nice, Cheyenne!

  5. That’s a great idea to really engage into your writing!

  6. This is such a good technique. I have to start using this!

  7. That is a really good idea! I see how it can help bring reality to your writing.
    Thanks,Cheyenne!

