Writing Prompt from Rosalind

“I crept down the pitch black hallway one step at a time quiet as a mouse; the only light to lead my way coming from the moon’s glow through the window, and just as I reached the staircase…” Finish this scene.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments!

Posted on May 6, 2014, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I crept down the pitch black hallway one step at a time, quiet as a mouse; the only light to lead my way was coming from the moon’s glow through the window, and just as I reached the staircase, something snagged on my sneaker. My heart jumped out my mouth and I screamed. Looking down, I realized it was that same hole in the rug. I stomped on it a few times to show my disgust, then continued up the stairs. I was nearly to the top of the old castle. A chill was starting to float around me, but I wasn’t sure if I was creating that coolness myself.
    Once I reached the turret, I looked out into the forest. Something was out there, but it would not let me see it. Peering over the wall, I scanned the ground below. What had made that noise?
    “Stop!”
    I fell back in fright, turning around so fast that I got a crick in my neck. It was Silvia.
    “What are you doing here? The master specifically requested that you stay in your quarters until morning.”
    “I…thought I heard something.” I rubbed the sore muscle in my neck.
    “It is an old castle, Fiona. Perhaps a mouse or a creak in the floor was the cause of the noise. Now come, off to your room.”
    She took my hand, and led me back to my room. I felt like a wimp for being so scared, but something about this castle just wasn’t right. Uncle Meredith had never warned me to stay in my quarters.
    I looked up at Silvia. She seemed convincing, but she had to be hiding something. I still remembered that evil look she had given me when I first arrived at the castle. And when her son was talking to me in the garden. Sure, she could have just been protective, but I felt bothered about her.
    We came to my room, and she closed the door behind me. “Good night, Fiona.”
    Yeah, a great night. Just perfect.

    The next morning, I woke early, still groggy. I was going to investigate that sound, and without Silvia meddling. I knew Kiaran would be in the kitchen this early, so I headed there first. Sure enough, he was hovering over a plate of bread and fruit.
    “Kiaran, I need your help.”
    He looked up from his breakfast and wiped his hands. “What?”
    “Do you know about any legends? I mean, about this castle?”
    He shrugged. “There’s one about a bear.”

  2. I crept down the pitch black hallway one step at a time quiet as a mouse; the only light to lead my way coming from the moon’s glow through the window, and just as I reached the staircase…

    “Blah!”

    “Aaaaah!!!!” I shrieked and swung the bat at my attacker.

    “Hey! Ow! What the heck? It’s me!”

    I ran up the stairs and flipped the light switch for the stairs. “Zoey! This is not sleepover behavior! What are you doing?”

    “You’re such a buzz kill Amanda. And I think you broke something.” she whined.

    I looked at my foam bat then gave her a look. “Come on, let’s go back to sleep.”

    “Fine but I need a snack first.”

    We made our way to the kitchen in our socks and a t-shirt and pulled out a midnight snack. Ben and Jerry’s Half-Baked pints. We dug in like bears that just awoke from hibernation.

    “You know how I left a note in Danny’s locker today?” she asked with a blob of ice-cream in her mouth.

    “Yeah and how you won’t tell your BEST FRIEND what it said.”

    She made a sheepish smile. “Yeah um, about uh, that part, I uh….”

    “Spit it out!” I whisper yelled.

    “HeaskedmeoutandIsaidyes!” she rushed out before slapping her hand over her mouth.

    “What? Why didn’t you tell me he asked in the first place? This is awesome! What’s your problem?” I gave her a light shove and she giggled. Then we started jumping up and down and dancing in place; my spoon was a little guitar.

    “I will never be able to wipe that image out of my head.” a deep voice said from behind us. A deep voice that could only belong to my brother. “What are you guys doing?”

    Zoey was so red her face was practically glowing in the dark. We were both only in long tees that came down to our mid-thighs. Chris made his way to the fridge and pulled out the carton of orange juice.

    “We were just leaving.” I grabbed chips off the top of the fridge and dip from inside of the door before we left but before we were gone Chris stopped us.

    “Don’t see that Danny kid; he’s a jerk.” I turned to look at him but he was preoccupied chugging from the juice carton like he didn’t even care but I knew on the inside he did. And it made me smile on the inside.

