Tightening Your Dialogue

Posted on January 16, 2015, in Videos. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OMG! So glad you posted this, Mrs. Emery! I found out about KM Weiland at the beginning of this school year, and I’ve been following her blog ever since. Isn’t she great? 🙂

  2. Wow. I really liked what she had to say. I’ve never really had trouble coming up with dialogue, more so I’ve had trouble starting it off. Sometimes, I’ll be in the middle of nowhere explaining how there is nothing around “this middle of nowhere” when all of a sudden this drop-dead gorgeous guy walks out of this supermarket with his dog and little sister. (Not literally, but I think as fellow writers, you know what I mean.) Y’know, the times when you want to introduce a character, but you don’t quite now how to start them off. Sometimes, you think it’d be a good idea to start them off as enemies, or frenemies, or sometimes, you really just don’t know. This was good to know… To know that all you have to do in your novel is say, “Jack and Jodi met at a party and exchanged a few words.” This was insanely simple!

