Why I Dislike Harry Potter by Tamar

Dearest club members and friends, I want you to know that what I am expressing here is an opinion. Just an opinion. I’ve read the series and done my research, and I’d like to express my views. I really hope this doesn’t jeopardize my relationship with any of you. I love you all. I simply believe that I shouldn’t be afraid to share my thoughts, even if they go against the majority of society. So here it goes:
The first concern I have is with the writing quality. J.K. Rowling seems to think it’s acceptable to write run-on sentences that are the size of paragraphs, and simply place a semicolon wherever she must take a breath. Semicolons have rules, my dear Rowling! You can’t just place them wherever you see fit! They are fascinating punctuation marks that must be given their proper value and respect.
Now let’s touch on characterization, shall we? All of you Hermione-lovers may want to close your ears for this… Her character is completely flat! She has no depth to her, no character arc. Her personality is limited to being a perfect goody-two-shoes whose biggest problem is being teased. She had room for so much more! There are other characters in the series with deeply rooted problems and life events that shaped them into who they were: Harry with his parents’ death, the Weasleys dealing with poverty, Neville with his parents being tortured… these characters had real life scars which made them interesting! Honestly, how many of us can say our biggest problem is being too perfect?
Another thing that bothers me is the fact that Rowling uses too much “filler”. As a matter of fact, I’ll safely say that 70% of each book is filler. We are taken through every step of Harry’s day. Where he goes, what he eats, when he goes to the bathroom… It’s just too much.
Why do we need to hear about every single class the students take?
Does no one else get tired of hearing Trelawney predict Harry’s early death time and time again?
How many times can we sit through a Potions class where Neville messes up and Hermione secretly helps him?
Of course it is important to add a class where something substantial happens that moves the plot along. But simply add classes to make the book longer? No thanks – I have an intense school day of my own, I don’t have to keep reading about theirs.

Despite all of this, I must say that I have nothing against J.K. Rowling. On the contrary – Anyone who is able to write a series that becomes a sensation for all ages deserves my respect. Her worldwide success is proof that she obviously did something right. However, I think the series could have used a bit more revision to make it have more kapow! Perhaps then, society would love it even more than they do today.

Posted on January 21, 2015, in Editorial Board Essay. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Great point Tamar! I have always thought that. I read part of the series but couldn’t take the problem with the semicolon and style. I have nothing against J.K. Rowling though to those who love her series.

  2. All respect to you for sharing your honest opinion. I can’t agree or disagree with you as I have not actually read the series thought.

  3. Agreed, Tamar!

    **Hopes none of my friends from Pinterest see this**

  4. I totally agree. I loved the Harry Potter series growing up, but now that I look back on it, I sort of realized it wasn’t as important or amazing as I had made it out to be. A lot of the time, like in the 5th book, Order of the Phoenix, I felt she just dragged it on and on just so it could be an 872 (I believe) paged book! And the Goblet of Fire felt rushed at the end, etc.
    She had really cool concepts and magical elements that really captured my attention, but you’re right, there’s quite a bit of filler in each book.
    I’m glad you chose to let us know; voice your opinion! (I don’t like Twilight, there, I said it.)

  5. Wow. I think you’re brave to post something like this, lol. I kind of agree with you. Obviously, my opinion wouldn’t matter as much, because I haven’t actually read the books. But I can definitely see your point. Hermione always struck me as being too powerful, too good at everything, and too perfect in general. Yeah, she got teased because of… what, her teeth, hair, parentage…? But she didn’t seem to have many detrimental problems or horrible experiences. Her awesomeness did make her seem a little bit shallow as a character. And, while people could hate me for saying so, I’ve never really understood the attraction between Hermione and Ron… I’m sure if I read the books, then I’d get it. But it just seemed like a strange match, lol. And you’re right about length! I always wonder what could possibly happen in those long books to make them as lengthy as they are.

    – Jordan H.

  6. Wow that was a great point Tamar! see the thing is that i never had an interest to even read it now i have read twilight as Grace said she didn’t like it now this is my opinion I think it gve me inspiraion to write sappy love storys so it gave me a push lol

  7. Good point, Tamar! I haven’t read Twilight but I have read all HP books twice. Have you tried that? It gives you other perspectives as well. I also believe that when Rowling was making her last four books 3-4 inches thick, it was for those crazy brainiac readers like me 🙂

  8. Hi Tamar! I commend you for being able to post what most will consider an unpopular opinion against a literary franchise with such a passionate fan-base. Nevertheless, you do make some strong (admittedly correct) points 🙂 On the argument that J. K. Rowling does use a lot of filler, I must agree. However, I think it’s all about perspective. Not stating that there’s a dichotomy for the massive length of her books, but it is worth noting that while some people find it unnecessary information, or shallow chapters just to meet a certain word count, others (myself included) like to view that we’re getting the “full experience”. We are, in a sense, essentially right next to Harry, Ron and Hermione through every hour of most days. I like to think her use of filler was an overall strategy so that by the end of the series, we would come to know these lead characters as our own personal friends, never failing to take them with us wherever we go. I think that deep down, that may be the true goal of every writer; making their characters live forever.

  9. I like this Tamar. I’ve never read the books for religious reasons, but I’ve always found J.K. Rowling interesting because she could write such long books.

  10. I have never really read the series… I never got around to it.

