NAPOWRIMO #9

Today’s prompt:

Today’s prompt comes from Angie Werren:

Everyday we make choices. Some are small: soda or water? the highway or back roads? Some are more significant: college or trade school?

Some choices lead us straight into the life we’re living, but for this poem, think about one of the things in your life you didn’t choose.

Be concrete. Pick an object — something tangible* — and write your poem directly to it, as if you were writing it a personal letter. Explain why you didn’t choose it. What could things have been like if you had? Talk about what your life has become without it. See where the “confession” takes you.

*As an alternative, dig a little deeper and write your poem to a person you left behind.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April.

Please read How to Post during NaPoWriMo to find out how the prompt posts work. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 9, 2015, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hailey Elizabeth

    Dear Momma,

    In the beginning, it was always your fault.
    I started learning, though, how to better deal with my pain.
    Blaming you never helped the circumstances we were under.
    It only made our relationship worst.
    We were both drowning in our own misery; yours your own, but also mine.
    I started feeling sorry
    Sorry that the drugs you inhaled and the beer you drank;
    Were slowly starting to take your life away
    Proclaiming, “Do as I say, not as I do” as you sat back and took a puff more.
    Your children started leaving you, and then were forcefully taken away.
    Out of your control because you couldn’t handle us;
    We were too much for a 34 year old woman who only wanted to get high.
    What you don’t seem to understand is the damage that’s done to us; your very children.
    Jamie cuts and cries herself to sleep.
    Shane and Aden are absent of the motherly figure they deserve.
    Me, though?
    I’m perfectly fine dealing with my depression issues on my own.
    They are not serious;
    Nothing is serious when it comes to you.
    Sure I cry, but never once have I cut or been suicidal.
    Why?
    Why is because I won’t let you control what I choose to say and do in my life…
    Anymore.
    You started fading, momma.
    You were leaving your limbs open while your soul drifted away.
    The high heavens you visited and the sloshed days spent on the couch.
    You preferred those times over your own children
    You chose drugs over bread
    And alcohol over milk
    Which is why Nana brought us food and why we slept at her house
    More than only one time
    And that is exactly why my siblings and I were taken away
    Out of your control
    To be watched over
    As we have chaperoned and controlled visits
    In controlled environments
    Where you cannot bring weed or a Gin-and-Tonic
    That is why, momma.
    That is why we no longer call you for your birthday or Christmas
    Why we have trouble with attachment issues
    And why this so called “poem” his since turned into a tearful out cry for you
    And only you
    Not your high state of being
    Not your masked, hammered, unstable self
    Just you, momma
    Is all we want
    You are all I need right now.

  2. I can’t help but think,
    About my choices yesterday
    I went to the ice cream shop,
    And ordered my favorite

    A chocolate milkshake,
    Is what I chose,
    But what would have happened,
    If I had chosen the ice cream cone?

    Perhaps if I had chosen the cone,
    I would have spilled ice cream
    I would have gone home to get it washed
    But what would have happened on the way there?

    I could have met a millionaire,
    A homeless man, or Steve Rogers,
    I could have found $1000,
    Or saved the President’s dog

    Perhaps I would have gone,
    On amazing adventures,
    Perhaps that day,
    Could have been my last

    Instead I choose the shake,
    So here I am,
    Sitting at the computer, typing,
    My normal life

  3. Dear You,
    It just wasn’t working for us.
    The fighting, the screaming,
    The strands of hair I pulled out in frustration.
    You never understood, never lent a hand,
    Never asked me how my day was,
    You just never seemed to care.
    I got tired of being used,
    Worse, tired of being wasted.
    Tired of having my heart thrown around
    At the hands of an egocentric idiot.
    How much would it have cost you to be kind?
    Was it too much of a hassle to love me?
    What damage could come from flowers,
    Or the occasional embrace?
    Call me a princess, say I’m dreaming,
    But love to me isn’t just cohabitation,
    It’s affection, devotion, things you don’t possess.
    So I left, frustrated, and I know I wasn’t nice.
    But next time, remember what it takes
    To love a woman,
    To be a man,
    To be a human being.
    It just wasn’t working for us.
    And I’m glad.

  4. It’s a little off topic but it’s where my confession went. I tried something new with this and made if rhyme (A,B,A,B,C,C,D,E,D,E,F,F,G,H,G,H,I,I,K).

    -Daddy time-

    I chose the topic
    You chose the date
    I wanted to make our relationship more isotopic
    But you chose your fate
    Your friends came along
    If it wasn’t for them I wouldn’t be singing this song
    I felt like our relationship was in tatters
    Because of the promises you broke
    But none of that seems to matter
    Now I choke on this smoke
    Of days I wanted for us
    I really wasn’t trying to make a fuss
    All I wanted to do was know that I was important
    And that you really cared
    But your ignorance is constant
    And now our relationship is impaired
    I’m sorry daddy
    And I feel like my dreams are a caddy
    For a relationship gone bare

  5. The saying “When things don’t go right, go left” is not true in my unfortunate case.
    I went left, and it wasn’t right.
    So is right right even if it isn’t?

    They were confused
    so they went right
    They were right
    going right

    I went left
    Staying left
    Going left
    Down left.
    Left left
    Right left

    Does it matter?
    I went left
    And it wasn’t right
    So don’t feel left
    If you went right.

    Because you were right
    Going right
    And I was left
    With going left

    Neither work
    So don’t bother
    Trying to help me
    Please don’t bother.

    Left will be left
    Right will be left
    In my unfortunate case

    My case is cracked open
    Ready to solve
    Never right
    Never left

    Don’t bother

    Sorry if I confused you guys!!! This explains my choices every day in my mind so yeah.. Sorry if I confused you once again… ❤

