NAPOWRIMO #18

Today’s prompt:

Write a poem about what it means to be human.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April.

Please read How to Post during NaPoWriMo to find out how the prompt posts work. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 18, 2015, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Being human means nothing special.
    Don’t get too offended, humans.
    You guys are alright.
    You can think,
    just like every other animal.
    And you can process data,
    like any other computer.

    You just make things more difficult for yourselves.
    You just use up everything nonrenewable,
    in efforts to generate renewable paper.

    But what! There’s more!
    That “paper” is cotton,
    with pretty art designs and hidden symbols.
    No, not for meaning.
    Just for counterfeit purposes.

    Being human means developing a rigid line of morality,
    just like machines have rules and codes which they follow verbatim.
    Except,
    humans know things aren’t always black and white, right?
    And so, sometimes they change their minds.
    Too bad
    it’s not possible to reprogram robots.

    The difference between man and machine is who presses the “ON” button.
    My cellphone woke me up this morning.

  2. Breathe.
    Speak.
    Think.
    Be human.

    Fight.
    Work.
    Travel.
    Be human.

    Read.
    Love.
    Break.
    Be human.

    We speak as one.
    We live as a whole.
    And when things are done,
    We know we’ve reached our goal.

    Humanity is the best thing we’ve got.
    It’s living in the now.
    And if you haven’t thought a lot,
    Maybe here’s how.

    Clear your mind.
    Think of you….
    And him, and her, and them.
    Because they’re all you too.

    Everything lives
    Everything matters
    But being human
    Is churning the batters.

    We’re our own greatest invention.
    So what are you doing?!
    EMBRACE IT!

  3. So sometimes I yell,
    Sometimes I cry,
    Does it bother you?
    Does it frustrate you?

    Sometimes I fail,
    Sometimes I fall,
    Will you have my back?
    Will you still be there?

    Sometimes I act like a human,
    Sometimes I don’t live robotically,
    If this is a problem, I’m sorry.
    If this is a problem, then find someone else.

    Sometimes I let out my feelings,
    Sometimes I make a bad choice.
    That’s part of what comes with humanity,
    That’s part of me and my flaws.

    Sometimes I go above stereotypes,
    Sometimes I defy your expectations,
    I’m just self-expressing, being myself,
    I’m just being human, and I’ll never change.

  4. Human

    Some say we’re just
    An ‘evolved’ form of the ape
    Some say that in the universe,
    We’re as insignificant as a grape

    When making a mistake,
    We say ‘we’re only human’,
    When we accomplish something huge,
    We say ‘for humanity!’

    However, we’re missing
    A crucial piece of information,
    When the world was created,
    God made us

    And He said “Let us make mankind in our image,”

    And He said “hey may rule over the fish in the sea and the birds in the sky
    “over the livestock and all the wild animals,
    “and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”(Genesis 1:26)

    “So God created mankind in his own image,
    in the image of God he created them;
    male and female he created them” (Genesis 1:27)

    Being human isn’t
    A random act of nature
    A mutation in bacteria
    A coincidence

    Being human is being
    A work of art
    A humble worshiper
    Beloved

  5. Hailey Elizabeth

    ~ humanity ~

    Couples
    Love
    Relationships

    Scuffles
    Dove
    Patience

    Humanity is awesome, clueless, and exciting
    We are confused on a daily basis
    We share secrets, often friendly confiding
    Hurting each other for being racists

    Names and faces, you throw the first punch
    Games and traces, you’re the first to lunge
    You fight and hit and scream
    It’s all part of the process; just the average American Dream

    People from all over the world
    Come here to learn, they come here for a neworld
    This is “living the life,” we’ve got it all made
    Made in the high heavens, for we control the blade

    The blade of torture, of world denomination
    Our foot is on the break of acceleration
    We control you, they control us
    But don’t ever show fear, don’t be a wuss

    Humanity is scary, fearful, and aggressive
    But don’t worry, child, for you will soon be in heaven
    With the Lord above, he will protect your eyes
    Eyes of innocence and loneliness; forevermore wise

  6. Hailey Elizabeth

    “I’m only human
    And I bleed when I fall down
    I’m only human
    And I crash and I break down
    Your words in my head
    Knives in my heart
    You build me up and then I fall apart
    Cause I’m only human”

    “I can take so much… until I’ve had enough…” – favorite verse in the song; just don’t know where it belongs!

    Human ~ Christina Perry

  7. I haven’t lived long enough to see all the rights and wrongs,
    I can only look to other grievances and see from their past.
    I was suggested to plan for college, to start volunteering and acquire a job.

    I felt the weight of it all, yet there was a glimmering feeling in my chest and I knew I would have help in the end.

    I had friends who made plans for me, I had family to confront my problems for me, I had outsiders to start pushing me towards me becoming this thing I must acquire.

    Yet,
    When all is said and done, the glimmering feeling turns into lust and I want more than I can chew, because the real me has a bright gleaming aura and I know I can take more than what others let me believe.

    I listened, and listened well.
    I listened to my heart because it wanted to spread its jubilant joy and triumphant songs,
    I listened to my brain because it wanted a more glorious approach to life,
    I listened to my guy because it wanted me to change me for me,
    not for the others who told me what to be.

    Everyone follows something,
    their friend,
    their parent,
    their role model,
    They never ever realized that being yourself,

    Being.. Human,

    Was about listening to yourself.

  8. Colors.
    Swirling and dancing,
    Twirling and spinning,
    They come alive inside my lava lamp.
    ~
    Colors.
    Pouring and spilling,
    Colliding and mixing,
    They pour out from my brush.
    ~
    Colors.
    Dark colors.
    Shooting across the sky like a knife,
    Slicing through the howling wind.
    They tear the sky to pieces in a storm.
    ~
    Colors.
    They are fascinating, but scary.
    They are lovely, but ugly.
    Silent, but deafening.
    Colors.
    ____________________________
    Yes, I know. This has absolutely NOTHING to do with the prompt, but I was in a hurry and didn’t have time to glance at it. Oh, well. 😛

