NAPOWRIMO #21

Today’s prompt:

Write a sonnet about the most beautiful feeling you’ve ever experienced. Not when or where or what happened, just enlighten us with the wave of emotion that went through your body.

Remember a typical sonnet has the following rhyme scheme: ABAB CDCD EFEF GG

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April.

Please read How to Post during NaPoWriMo to find out how the prompt posts work. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 21, 2015, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hailey Elizabeth

    Tick
    Tock
    Tick
    Tock

    The hours pass by slowly
    For I am now scared
    Her body is growing
    “She is okay,” the doc has declared

    The Miracle of Life
    Experienced firsthand
    Aunt Bethany is great at motherhood and a soon-to-be wife
    She has been here all day, states her arm band

    The Miracle of Life is spectacular
    Uncle Shane is no longer a bachelor

    __________________________________________________________________________

    bleck. I hate this. but, it was the best I could do… I’ve got a lot on my plate right now, lol! trying to keep up with the poems… 😛 sorry that your eyeballs had to read such a disgrace! XD

  2. A flower blossoms.
    Its delicate petals reach
    for the far off sky.

  3. Slowly rising up
    At day break
    Making me cup
    My eyes so they won’t ache.

    I see you there
    Behind the clouds
    I try not to stare
    But the feeling crowds (My empty mind…)

    Feel the heat
    You shine down
    You and I greet
    In the middle of town.

    We collide.
    At least I’ve tried!!!

    Sorry about the 4th line in the 2nd stanza… I couldn’t think of anything else to put there, so I just put the rest in parentheses… Yeah… 😛

  4. Warmth was rushing through each of my veins,
    Trust me, I thought I was going insane!
    My heart started fluttering, growing its wings,
    And next thing I knew, I was jumping on springs.

    I felt so alive, so special and rare,
    I felt like an eagle, soaring through the air.
    No boundaries to stop me, no one to say no,
    One push and there I was, ready to go.

    The most wonderful feeling I had ever felt,
    I thought that my arms and my legs might just melt!
    And sadly, I have never felt it since then,
    And here I am, hoping I’ll feel it again.

  5. Dictionary definition of beauty: “a combination of qualities, such as shape, color, or form, that pleases the aesthetic senses, especially the sight”

    I apologize,
    But I must disagree
    With the professors
    At Oxford

    I don’t think beauty
    Needs a shape color or form
    I don’t think beauty
    Needs to be seen

    “Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear— but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

    So how can beauty
    Be found?

    In laughing children
    In newborn babies
    In smiling adults
    In the grateful teens

    In people crying out
    In this world of darkness
    You can still find beauty
    If you know where to look

  6. As I walked I anxiously shivered
    Not from cold but from a fear that awakened in my soul
    Terrified of what would happen was creeping into my liver
    I had to be bold to get past this hole

    As I reached my destination the fear lightened
    Almost all of the butterflies fluttered away
    As he spoke I could feel my throat tighten
    Not out of fear anyway

    I went down
    But came up refreshed
    Renewed all around
    My soul, like spring, it was fresh

    Without hesitation
    My soul screamed in delight for its salvation.

