Opposite Worlds by Cheyenne

I feel as if I am in another world. I write novels, as I am sure you have been told. However long it takes to finish a chapter, I do not mind. It’s peaceful letting myself drift away into the story through time. When writing a poem, I travel somewhere new. A place unknown to me, maybe unknown to you. Sometimes it is hard to think of theme. Gosh, it’s hard to even do a rhyme scheme! But poems are simple and lovely. Every time I read one, it sounds like a melody. My eyes dance across each word, each verse, and as I continue, I tune all things out, completely immersed. I am rather jealous that I cannot truly write poetry. Every time I try, it becomes a sixty-paged story. But I never stop trying; to say I hate writing poems, well, I’d be lying. Though I know I make them long, I find it helpful to think of them likes songs. Emily Dickinson and Shel Silverstein surely had tunes. I used to read their works several nights under gray moons. I marveled at how concise a poet could make his story, how he could make me feel, think, and smile in his glory. I am a novelist at heart, but somewhere inside, I am a poet; all I have to do is start. I wish you all the best of luck this year. Your work will make us all laugh, cry, and cheer!

Posted on April 27, 2015, in Editorial Board Essay. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hailey Elizabeth

    great poem, Cheyenne!

  2. Love this!

