Writing Prompt!

From Tamar: An Elephant in the Middle of Manhattan…

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on May 19, 2015, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. An Elephant In The Middle Of Manhattan!

    The streets were lit up with car lights. My parents, two sisters, and I were driving down one of the many busy streets in Manhattan. We’d just come from my grandmother’s house, which was way out in the country part of the place. We live in an apartment on April Boulevard. That’s where we were driving to.

    The sun was setting, and it cast a hazy red and orange mist over the town. Everything was a pretty at that time. The radio was cranked up, playing some yodeling country song. I always take a picture at this moment, and when I did, something caught my eye. There was a helicopter flying towards us. It was a helicopter that you usually don’t see very often here; an animal rescue one. It flew close to the ground, rustling trees and busting my eardrums. My parents muttered something, but I couldn’t hear them. The helicopter flew right above the street, turning towards the way we were going. Something was up there, and something big too. Up ahead, there were police cars and fire trucks scattered across the road. My sister, Mia, said, “What is it now? Is Godzilla loose?” I snickered and turned to look out the other window. There! I saw it! It was a giant grey figure stampeding towards us. “What the…” I said. Before I could finish my sentence, a trumpet louder than the heavens exploded out of nowhere.
    “IT’S AN ELEPHANT!” Mia screamed. An elephant in Manhattan? How?

  2. Hailey Elizabeth

    not completely sure what this means … this is my interpretation … :/
    __________________________________________________________________________

    “You know, you should consider yourself lucky.” I said. “You live in Manhattan and all you ever do is complain.”
    I caught a glimpse of her rolling her eyes as she said, “And you should consider yourself lucky.” She added emphasis on ‘yourself’ to make me mad. “You’re best friend lives in Manhattan.”
    I snarled as we crossed the street across from Starbucks. “Coffee?” she asked.
    “Only iced.” I replied.
    “Right.”
    We waited on the sidewalk for a cab when I saw a fairly large beige object out of the corner of my eye. I squealed my girly squeal as I turned around and spotted a ginormous elephant sitting right in the middle of the busiest Manhattan road. Taxi’s swerved and cars beeped their horns. People on sidewalks shrieked in terror as jay-walkers became jay-runners. I punched Sasha in the ribs and she moaned and hit me back. “What the hell, Jessa?”
    “Do you not see the god darn elephant sitting in the middle of the road, Sasha? Are you freaking insane?”
    “Ohmigod,” she said in one breath as she hopped into the taxi cab that was no longer a taxi cab, seeing as the driver had vanished form sight. “What the? What do we do now?”
    “How the hell am I supposed to know?” I asked, furious at this retarded question. She was good at these, and it’s times like this that I ask myself… “Why does your best friend live in Manhattan?”
    __________________________________________________________________________

    yeah … so .. lol . it was fun ! thanks , Tamar . but , maybe I screwed it up , haha ! XD

  3. Hailey Elizabeth

    **… darn it . Mrs. Emery, can you post this one please and ignore the other one ? thank you!**

    not completely sure what this means … this is my interpretation … :/
    __________________________________________________________________________

    “You know, you should consider yourself lucky.” I said. “You live in Manhattan and all you ever do is complain.”
    I caught a glimpse of her rolling her eyes as she said, “And you should consider yourself lucky.” She added emphasis on ‘yourself’ to make me mad. “You’re best friend lives in Manhattan.”
    I snarled as we crossed the street across from Starbucks. “Coffee?” she asked.
    “Only iced.” I replied.
    “Right.”
    We waited on the sidewalk for a cab when I saw a fairly large beige object out of the corner of my eye. I squealed my girly squeal as I turned around and spotted a ginormous elephant sitting right in the middle of the busiest Manhattan road. Taxi’s swerved and cars beeped their horns. People on sidewalks shrieked in terror as jay-walkers became jay-runners. I punched Sasha in the ribs and she moaned and hit me back. “What the hell, Jessa?”
    “Do you not see the god darn elephant sitting in the middle of the road, Sasha? Are you freaking insane?”
    “Ohmigod,” she said in one breath as she hopped into the taxi cab that was no longer a taxi cab, seeing as the driver had vanished form sight. “What the? What do we do now?”
    “How the hell am I supposed to know?” I asked, furious at this retarded question. She was good at these, and it’s times like this that I ask myself… “Why are you best friends with a girl that lives in Manhattan?”
    __________________________________________________________________________

    yeah … so .. lol . it was fun ! thanks , Tamar . but , maybe I screwed it up , haha ! XD

