Summer Plans by Rosalind

I use to think that when you’re a full time homeschooled student (as I am), your appreciation for what was known as ‘summer break’ in public school (if you were ever in public school) becomes less great. I mean, come on, we as computer students are out of a classroom every day, and we are kind of moving at our own convenience. So why would a couple months at home doing nothing other than exactly what we want to do be that overwhelming? Well, this year, I’ve finally figured it out. I am not that student who can embrace the fact that homeschooling is pretty much at home, if it’s school, normally about 50% of the time I’m not interested in doing it. Now I’m not one to doubt the importance of education. My mother, as a professor, has always had an iron fist when it came to education, especially her child’s education, and so I’ve been told nothing but good things about studies. Of course though, just because something is important, this doesn’t mean you have to be in love with it. I think as high schoolers, all students can relate to that moment of weakness, that moment of frustration, that moment of sheer ‘dear god get me out of here before my head explodes.’ I’ve had those instances, more than once, and as I’ve progressed in my years of high school, I’ve come to realize that these emotions come on much stronger and much more frequently than they ever did in grade school, or even in middle school.

I’ve come to learn though that this struggle truly is a type of ‘right of passage’. 12 years of our young lives leads in a forever existence of what we will forever be; school determines the future more than anything else, at least that’s what I’ve always been told. I mean, where do you think people like Stephen King and Poe started out? Exactly, they started with a foundation. So although that foundation can be quite rough to walk across, once you get there to the other end, bleeding and aching feet and all, the rest is easy. I must say though, I find myself appreciating the hell out of a couple months off, because as a student I simply earn it for myself. We all earn it, and if anyone ever tells you that you don’t they’re wrong. Our jobs as learners are just as important as an adult’s job as whatever. It provides for us, not in a physical currency, but in a kind of pay that really is priceless.

I myself haven’t had a summer vacation of 2 years, for multiple reasons I suppose. A class that demanded to be finished, a focus that just wasn’t very strong, or a routine I just didn’t feel like breaking, all these things have contributed to my non-stop pace as a student for almost 800 days, but this year I must say I’ve been good, and there is nothing like working yourself raw, and then realizing that it’s all been for something, a something that could be considered as a nothing, but I know I’ll stay busy through these months of recess. I’ve got new stories to write, some leopard gecko breeding to do, and a beach stay-cation that is just calling my name.

Posted on May 20, 2015, in Editorial Board Essay. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m ready for my summer as well, Rosalind! I am in public school with one FLVS class, so I only have two more weeks after this one before the break. However, my summer is already packed before it has even begun! I have Driver’s Ed, volunteering at a Christian summer camp, and participating in a drama camp for two weeks. I’ve already been loaded with summer assignments from teachers, with more on the way. On my own time, I have tons of writing, reading, and art I want to do/make.

