Writing Prompt!

Write about something you used to fret about.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on October 15, 2015, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. “You should probably call her, Hailey. I’m sure she wants to hear from you.”
    “Maybe she just keeps forgetting, I’m sure she’ll call soon!”
    “Don’t worry about it, bug. It’s just another broken promise but I’m sure she’s sorry.”

    Words spoken from my step-mom about my bio-mom. My step mom is more of a mom to me than my bio mom will probably ever be. She cares about me and she loves me. My biological mother has been in an out of my life since I was 8. For the past 8 years, we’ve had an awkward “on-again-off-again” relationship with her. There are other problems with her beneath the surface that I’m uncomfortable sharing with you at this moment, but long story short; she’s an addict. She’s a little unstable and she’s slightly insane. I’ve always secretly hoped that I would and could have a better relationship but her mental state of mind makes it slightly challenging. I did, always have, and still continue to fret about my relationship with my biological mother. I love her though. She makes me stronger because of it. I can be me and I know who I am because I have people like her to, unfortunately but fortunately, led me to the right path. Drugs and booze, boys and girls, is the absolute wrong path to turn to. Please never do it.

  2. Suerellys Ortiz

    I used to fret about my sister’s friends when we were a lot younger. It was hard for me to make friends and i would get very jealous. Today I still have trouble liking my sisters friends, unless they become friends with me too. However, I find myself not avoiding, but more like not trying to make any friends. This is one the reasons I joined the creative writing club. I was hoping to make some new friends here.

  3. School.
    That was a major thing I used to fret about.
    The more I thought of that big paper I had due the next month, the more panicked and worried I became. Every day I spent worrying about an upcoming math test, the more I became frustrated and overwhelmed.
    But now I know that worrying and fretting about something constantly, isn’t really going to make it any better. You can overwhelm yourself with worries about something–but all that will do is make your situation worse. Just do your best in everything you do. Your best isn’t perfect, because you are merely human, but that is okay. Study hard, work hard, do your best, and leave it at that. You don’t need to fret and worry if you did your best, because that is all you can do. πŸ˜‰

  4. I use to fret about the opinions of others.
    Having had low self-esteem I gave in easily what others said to “fit in.” If someone said they didn’t like the clothes I was wearing I would try wearing something else more “normal” the next day.
    However, now I know that it’s those differences that makes us unique and sets us apart from one another!

  5. I used to fret about people having the same name as me.
    I am not sure we are supposed to share our names, but mine is a very common name. I had someone in my class who had my same name. Whenever the teacher said my/our name to answer a question, the said person would never answer and I would wait, but still, she said nothing. I ended up answering, but I would freak out that the teacher would say, not you, her. I do not even know why, but this caused me to fret.
    I would worry that I would get an award, but she would take it, or that we got the wrong scores. (Since this was early in my elementary school career, I would also worry that she would get my letter to Hogwarts).
    Luckily, I have a very unique last name.

    (I know this was probably the weirdest one on here, but it was the first thing that I thought off, so… πŸ˜› )

    • I went through high school in a class of only 50 kids, and 4 of us were named Katie, all spelled the same way. We often had class together and it was the same deal. There were a couple of years where all four of us had the same couple of classes. I’m sure our teachers loved it, too. πŸ˜‰

    • I totally know what you’re talking about! When I was in elementary school there was another Grace in my class with the same first letter of her last name, so we couldn’t be distinguished by that. So they ended up calling me Grace Ann, and her Grace, and it made me mad because I thought she was getting treated better by being called by her first name only xD Now there are so many Graces everywhere I go, and some even with the same middle name too. I don’t even have a very unique last name at all, and I’d also fret about that xD I bet yours is very cool πŸ˜›

    • I know exactly what you’re talking about! When I was in the 4th grade, a girl named Haley M was in my class and my name is also Hailey M. I had an “i” and she didn’t so whenever our teacher would call our names, she’d say “Haley – no i” or she’d say “Hailey – with an i” and that’s how it went for a year! We both had M as our last names and our first names were similar so we went by that or she would be Haley 1 and I would be Hailey 2, and I too was jealous becuase I thought she was better than me because she got the number 1! πŸ™‚ Great story! Thanks for sharing !

  6. Walking down the halls in my busy school used to always terrify me. I don’t know how I got this way, but suddenly, what others think were more important than my own. Soon, my mind was injected with poison, and its still running through my veins. I’ve heard the phrase over a million of times, that what you think of yourself is most important. Yes, that’s true, but that didn’t stop my mind from guessing what goes on in other people’s heads. I’m still trying to remember that their opinion most likely doesn’t affect my future at all, but I can never forget that it is good to some extent.

  7. I used to fret about…getting it wrong.
    I used to walk the hallways wondering if my foot was in perfect placement.
    My dress was inappropriate, hair a mess. No matter how hard I tried, I seemed to always fail. I was in fear that the dishes were not done correctly, or that my or I may not be in proper posture. Constant expectation to get yelled at for being mistaken. Constantly getting punished.
    But, as I grew wiser with age, I found that their were more important things to worry about. Now I will soon be an adult, with different worries. Has the electric bill been paid? Will I be able to put myself through college? I began too slip away with such insignificant worries. I knew that there will always be faults, but we should learn to see through them. I began to ask bigger questions.

