Snowflake Method Step Five

Write up a one-page description of each major character and a half-page description of the other important characters. These “character synopses” should tell the story from the point of view of each character. As always, feel free to cycle back to the earlier steps and make revisions as you learn cool stuff about your characters. I usually enjoy this step the most and lately, I have been putting the resulting “character synopses” into my proposals instead of a plot-based synopsis. Editors love character synopses, because editors love character-based fiction.

Posted on October 23, 2015, in Writing Tips. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Do you happen to have an example of this step? I’m just trying to figure out what something like this would look like.

    • Hey Emilee, I don’t have an example unfortunately. Each synopsis should follow roughly the same larger plot overview of the book as a whole. However it may look very different depending on the character’s POV. For example, the story of Harry Potter looks very different from Harry’s point of view than it does from Voldemort’s. I hope that helps. Let me know if you still have questions.

