NaNo Recap

Congrats! We’re all done! Whew!
So how did it go? What did you like or what did you not like? Write about your experience in the comments.

Posted on December 1, 2015, in NaNoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. NaNoWriMo was truly challenging and time-consuming for most of us. This is the first year I participate in this event and I discovered that setting up a schedule every day to pursue writing my novel is truly difficult.

    Nevertheless, after finishing my novel, I realize that this challenge truly enhanced my writing skills and I feel I am now capable of writing much better than I used to before this event. While writing my novel, I also enjoyed pouring out my interests and my ideas unto paper in order to communicate them to other individuals. I am also contented to know that by the time I thought I could not write a complete novel because I had become quite busy lately, this event assisted me in starting and finishing one completely. I hope everyone has enjoyed participating in this event as much as I did. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I agree with all of that, Mabel! This is the first year I won NaNo (not the first year I participated though), and I can say that it did push me to write and refine some of my story-creating skills. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Thank you Natalie! I am very happy to know that you have reached your goal this year and that NaNoWriMo has helped you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I failed miserably haha. 22K at the start of the final week and I just couldn’t do it anymore. I had the beginning and the ending fairly planned, I was on a high…and then came the meat, and I ran out of steam having no idea what to do D: Next year I’m totally going to be outlining and seriously using the snowflake method to allow me to get somewhere! It was my first year, and I definitely learned a lot. I’ve never written so much in just one month, so I’m not going to be too hard on myself. Congrats to everyone who met their goals! (especially Mabel, Natalie, and Rosalind as far as I know!) ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Same… I started writing a bit late though, but I still tried to write as much as I could. After a while, I too ran out of ideas as to what I should include in my story. Also, this was my first time too!

  3. I set my goal at 10,000 words, knowing I had a busy month ahead. I was right, too. At 10:00 P.M., November 30, the final day, I met my goal of 10,000 words. I obviously have not finished my novel, at 10,000 words, but feel so accomplished for winning NaNoWriMo anyway, even if it was not the big 50,000 words. I told myself to allow a day away from my novel, at the very least, and to take a long break from writing. But I found myself typing away at the story again this afternoon. I cannot seem to stop, other than to post this comment, and am desiring to return to my story, even though I have had a month’s worth of it. I am excited for NaNoWriMo next year, and am hopeful I can achieve a higher goal, but am glad of the long 11 months in between then and now. Back to writing!

  4. Congrats to everyone who reached their goal!

  5. Congratulations Everyone!

  6. It was an interesting experience to say the least. I started out at a really fast past, and after 2 weeks I already 15k, but after that I just couldn’t find the time to sit down and write, and so eventually I just stopped altogether. However, when it rolls around next year I’m going to make sure that I can do it the entire month. It was fun!

