Invisible Walls by Katie

I am trapped behind invisible walls,
They’re as clear as day.
I can see you but you can’t see me. I can see all,
Yet you’re so far away.

I’ve tried to escape, but I can’t find the door.
I’ve nearly gone insane.
I don’t think I can take it anymore.
I need to get away.

I am always alone, but I can never be alone.
Through the already clear window, people watch me cry,
But they just look down at their phones,
And walk right along, they walk right on by.

I long for someone to hold me,
To tell me I’m okay.
But everyone is gone, you see,
He took them all away.

I am all alone.
I will always be.
I can see you come and go,
But you cannot see me.

It’s been many years,
I haven’t seen you go by.
People talk upstairs,
About how you have died.

It is clear to me now,
After 70 long shows,
I must take my final bow.
I must let go.

For you cannot save me,
You are gone.
But when I wake up, please promise me,
That I can be with you, forever long.

I will see you up in the sky,
You and I, no walls like glass.
No more walls, no more crying,
Just you and me at last.

Posted on December 7, 2015, in Student Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. thewritingpegasus

    I’m so happy to see my first poem on the blog 😀

  2. Beautiful poem! Also, I loved that almost every verse rhymes with another verse.

  3. WONDERFUL Katie. The simplicity holds a weight that really conveys the message in the poem. It almost reminded me of “The Outside” by Taylor Swift, about looking at someone but not being noticed by them this whole time.

    • thewritingpegasus

      Thanks Grace! I have never heard that song, but it sounds interesting. And I think that was the angle I was going for, although I didn’t plan it. I just started writing and the little “love story” idea just wrote itself in a way. I’m glad you like it 😀

  4. I agree with Grace and Kara. This is a wonderful piece of literature, Katie. Keep writing poems and you will be a star poet! 🙂

  5. Wow, I love it! Congrats on a well done piece!

  6. Great job! Wonderful poem! I love the deep message it holds and the emotion embedded in the story.

  7. Lovely poem, Katie! It holds such emotion and depth.

  8. Seriously, I got a little teary-eyed. Such heartfelt words simply portrayed. Beautiful.

  9. Julius D. Potts-Boyd

    This was sad, but it was also very good.

  10. Amazing poem! I love your writing style. You have an amazing gift!

