Writing Prompt!

From Rosalind: Describe your characters Black Friday experience.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments. Bonus points if you make it a poem for our poetry focus this month.

Posted on December 10, 2015, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. “I thought I would never make it! People rushed in like a pack of wild animals pushing and clawing their way through. They grabbed anything they could get their hands on. Shouting could be heard from every direction, and there would be a fight once in a while whenever an item was down to its last one! I had to rush in and out to get out alive. I have to say I am glad I was not involved in any of the battles!”

    “Oh, but you were in a battle, and let me tell you that you lost this one pretty bad!”

    “What do you mean?”

    “You bought yourself this box of cheez its, and you don’t even like cheese!”

    • This is very interesting. I especially liked how the character entered a shopping battle without even realizing it. Thank you for posting. 🙂

  2. The following is an edited version of my above poem:

    The Contemporary Craze

    It was a very bright morning on Black Friday,
    It was truly a sensational holiday,
    I heard that the prices of all items did drop,
    And that people flooded the mall and started to shop.

    The moment I entered that large beautiful mall,
    I was quite astonished as I nearly did fall,
    At all the prices and items my eyes did gleam,
    The scene of the mall lit up as if in a dream.

    I started roaming the entire mall as I shopped,
    There were so many items that day that I bought,
    Including a very grand and a large TV,
    It was the largest device you could ever see.

    I pursued shopping as I bought products for my hair,
    I also bought a table and two large armchairs,
    I bought every skirt, every dress, and every blouse,
    A grand sensation of liberty did arouse.

    I bought every MP3 player I could find,
    I bought all the technology of every kind,
    I bought every music disc from jazz to the blues,
    And I bought much more as I continued to cruise.

    Finally, I have bought everything I could reach,
    My shopping that day harbored a lesson to teach,
    Regarding advertisement exaggerations,
    That produce a false feeling of lively sensations.

    We’ve all experienced this contemporary craze,
    Where we are immersed in media’s mystical haze,
    We never regard the core intent of the media we see,
    Which captures man’s mind and money and illusions us as free.

    I realized that I have quite lost my senses,
    I realized that I was blinded with smoked lenses,
    I regret all the money I spent, every dime,
    For things that I threw in my garage for all time.

  3. Around the holidays there’s a constant daze,
    as if we all fall under the spell of consumerism.
    I,
    For one, am not part of this yearly ritual.

    I say yearly not in the sense that it happens every year,
    But that it is an ongoing dilemma throughout the year.
    People are force fed good deals,
    When really,
    If thought about,
    Are only good deals because you’re subjected to buy presents for “hundreds” of people in your range of human-beings.

    The so called ‘black sheep’ of all holiday shopping – also marked black Friday-
    remains to be one of the most threatening of all consumerism trades.

    You’d think buying presents would be a happy and joyous occasion.
    No.
    You are left with bruised elbows and gifts you only bought for the sake of someone else not receiving them.
    It’s funny how holidays are meant to be celebrating but in turn are often used as a,
    Corrupt, source of embellishment.

    Here’s to the holidays cheers,
    Because all you’ll have by the end of the year,
    Is gifts you didn’t need, and wrapping paper covering what isn’t sincere

    – (This ended up being very grim and sad, but I swear I love the holidays! Black Friday I think just brought out the worst in me, hehehe. Despite my poem, I hope everyone has had fun buying gifts for the ones they love!)

  4. The Contemporary Craze

    It was a very bright morning on Black Friday,
    It was truly a sensational holiday,
    I heard that the prices of all items did drop,
    And that people flooded the mall and started to shop.

    The moment I entered that large beautiful mall,
    I was quite astonished as I nearly did fall,
    At all the prices and items my eyes did gleam,
    The scene of the mall lit up as if in a dream.

    I started roaming the entire mall as I shopped,
    There were so many items that day that I bought,
    Including a very grand and a large TV,
    It was the largest device you could ever see.

    I pursued shopping as I bought products for my hair,
    I also bought a table and two large armchairs,
    I bought every skirt, every dress, and every blouse,
    A grand sensation of liberty did arouse.

    I bought every MP3 player I could find,
    I bought all the technology of every kind,
    I bought every music disc from jazz to the blues,
    And I bought much more as I continued to cruise.

    Finally, I have bought everything I could reach,
    My shopping that day harbored a lesson to teach,
    Regarding advertisement exaggerations,
    That produce a false feeling of lively sensations.

    We’ve all experienced this contemporary craze,
    Where we are immersed in media’s mystical haze,
    We never regard the core intent of the media we see,
    Which captures man’s mind and money and illusions us as free.

    I realized that I have quite lost my senses,
    I realized that I was blinded with smoked lenses,
    I regret all the money I spent, every dime,
    For things that I threw in my garage for all time.

