Resolutions: Looking Forward to the New Year by Rosalind

It’s 2016, and like every year, it’s a bit of a shock that we’ve done it again. 12 months from 2015, it almost doesn’t feel real, and as I look back to all I did last year it gives me both a nervousness and a feeling of excitement for what will go down now that we’ve started again. 2015 was a year that I think I’ll always remember as a writer, as a learner, as a scholar, and as a woman. 2015 I experienced my 4th successful NaNoWriMo, I got A’s and B’s in all my classes, I bred happy and healthy leopard geckos, and I became deeply and passionately involved in my journey of feminism, Buddhism, civil rights, and I even begun proudly volunteering for organizations such as Judy’s Pet Rescue and Planned Parenthood.

2015 was full of new beginnings, of growth and of education, of new friendships and connections. 2015 was truly inspiring, and so 2016 brings me a confidence that is almost overwhelming. As a resolution, I’ve focused on my emotional health and writing routine. I plan to get back into my 1,000 daily word diet, and meditate daily for both inspiration in writing and my own spirituality. I plan to work even harder to contribute to some of my favorite writing and herpetology magazines, and I am even going to strive at writing my own nonfiction herpetology book and hopefully go on to investigate the world of self publishing.

The past year has been one of the most crucial of my teenage life, and changes have come quite drastically and fast. Some changes have been good, some changes have been bad, some changes have been exciting, and some have been very sad, but all in all I have never been prouder of a previous year. I’ve really experienced independence in myself, and this has caused my writing to grow into so much more than what it began to be many years ago. I’ve seen a million things to apply to my personal life, and 2016 feels like it is looking to be one hell of a decent year. I expect the adventure to be something incredible; I’m sure this time next year I’ll have some very good things to say.

Posted on January 6, 2016, in Editorial Board Essay. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. thewritingpegasus

    I understand the shock. I’m going to be thirteen late in this year, and even though it is still fairly young, I can’t help but think “Being an adult is not nearly as far away as it was before”, which is kind of scary, because I very much enjoy being a kid. But sometimes at night when I’m all alone I think, “Is this what it’s going to be like all the time in the future?”. Because of that I have come to the decision to NEVER live alone xD I hope everyone has a great year. 🙂

  2. 2016 has suddenly became the year of “oh no college is coming very soon.” xD I know college is 2 more years away, but for some reason I’m terrified. I’m in the 10th grade biting my nails and asking myself, “What am I going to major in? Which college? How will I be able to live on my own? This won’t be like FLVS or regular school at all” and so on and so forth. I hope it subsides fast, because no one else I know seems to be scared xD. So this year, I hope to develop and explore further my interests, in English, journalism and speech, the Classics, in guitar–do research and get a better understanding of my talents and my interests, thus allowing me to get a better idea of what I want to major in, and then how I’ll want to live my life. In fact, until college hits, I really want to focus on those things. I don’t want to go to college without much idea of who I want to be. Maybe I’m overthinking it, but hopefully this will give me cushion by the time I have to start looking at colleges, take the SAT, all these big things. I don’t know, but that’s what 2016 will be for me xD
    And maybe that will rid me of my procrastination issues xD

  3. Thank you for sharing this, Rosalind! I always enjoy your work and I love that this was more personal. It is definitely hard to believe that 2016 is here, I myself am having trouble to grasp that fact. I love hearing that you had a wonderful year in 2015 and are looking forward to what this year will bring. I would have to agree; although personally I am a bit nervous/anxious about what 2016 brings. This is the year I graduate and I would be lying if I said I was not scared about going to college. Nonetheless, I love your attitude and I think we should all be optimistic and enjoy our experiences this year. Amazing post, Rosalind!

