Writing Prompt!

From Natalie: Your character gets an email that was meant to be sent to a celebrity, what does it say and how does he/she go about it?

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments!

Posted on January 14, 2016, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I opened my email, to clear out the wordpress notifications, when I noticed something oddly peculiar. It wasn’t from a teacher, or another student, it was from someone named Daily, Richard Daily. I checked the contents of the email, because I had recently been looking into college scholarships. It read:

    “Hey, don’t forget that your plane for Sydney leaves in four hours. You know Aussies, they can get a bit tempered when their favorite band doesn’t decide to show up. Plus, it’s a time to see your mum Liz. Just because you’re the lead singer of the famed 5SOS doesn’t mean you can slack off, Luke. I’ve noticed it, so has Calum. Just, get to that plane. That’s all I’m saying. ”

    It had a signature and contact information at the end of the email. I read the email again, just to make sure I had read it right. I sat back in my chair, astonished at the fact it was a mistaken email sent to me. What was his email, then, if it can be confused with mine? I replied to the email.

    “I’m sorry, Mr. Daily, but I’m not Luke. My name is Rayzel Plenner. I’m a fan of the band, but you seemed to have typed my email instead of his.”

    I felt confident that he got that I’m not a fan girl, because I’m not. I’m a fan of their music, not their lives. He responded a few minutes later.

    “I’m sorry for the inconvenience, Ms. Plenner. If you don’t mention this to anyone, I could give you $55 worth of merchandise. Anything to keep the bands secret communications hidden. If this got out, I would get fired for sure. ”

    I smiled, because I know how crazed their fans can be.

    “If you can get that merchandise to me within the next week, you have my word, Mr. Daily.”

    Then I gave him my address. I was uncertain is this was for real, but I was about to move anyway, so I didn’t care. This was something that doesn’t happen everyday, and it probably will never happen again.

