Writing Prompt!

From Cheyenne: Your character despises music for what reason?

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments!

Posted on January 19, 2016, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. She picks up the pencil to write music, but the words always flow angrily out of the lead weapon she holds. She writes to let her emotions run free, but the amount of words that want to flow onto the paper want to burst open onto the lines. She despises that this moment in time, she can’t express herself because the vow of music has set her to limit herself. In order to express herself she must have the sentences be short, they must rhyme in order, and be catchy for the people.
    She doesn’t want to write for these reasons; she feels subjected to the commonness of what others want.
    Music has become her ball and chain; the ball being the industry that anchors her words, and the chain being the fans that trail along to hear her shortened strained notes.
    Music has turned her thoughts into catchy phrases, the jingles that drive her insane.
    Music has become an entity of others reflected on her, it is no longer her music she hears.

  2. thewritingpegasus

    “I HATE music!” I growled.
    “But… why? Music is wonderful!” Alexis replied. She was a bit of a gossip at school, and she had just sneaked up behind me.
    I thought about all the reasons. Every time I was jamming out to music, something bad would happen.
    Once I was at a pool party. I was showing off some epic moves and I tripped on a beach ball, flipped, fell into the pool and came up with a dive stick in my mouth. Even worse the water had splashed the radio.
    Another time I had just taken a shower and I was in my bathrobe. I picked up a hairbrush and starting singing some Taylor Swift really loudly. I thought I was home alone and I didn’t hear my mom and my little brother come in. My evil brother had opened the door ever so slightly and recorded my little performance!! It took me a TON of bribes to get him NOT to post it on YouTube!!
    Yet another time I was leaning in for my first kiss with Bradley Tucker, the cutest boy in the 8th grade. When a car drove past with it’s windows down and screaming rock and roll music blasted. I spilled my milkshake all over myself and head-bumped with Bradley. It was the most embarrassing day ever.
    But I sure wasn’t going to tell Alexis all that! I would be shunned out of my school!!
    I grinned over at Alexis and said, “I mean, I hate the local music museum, you’d think it’d be cool, but it’s not.”
    Alexis gave me a weird look and a nod and then slowly backed away. Then I glared at my phone and deleted all of my music playlists.

  3. Claude bit his tongue as he was forced to listen to the rock music coming from the radio. Derek drove while tapping his fingers against the steering wheel. Claude was more than aware it was one of Derek’s favorite as he almost always had it on.

    Nonetheless, Claude hated it. Not only that song, but all music. He couldn’t comprehend what draws people to it. It is simply sounds that was arranged in a pattern. There was nothing special about music.

    Perhaps it was because he hated sounds in general. Claude preferred the peace that silence brings. Despite that, he was able to enjoy a proper conversation and he found something peaceful in the sounds rain provides.

    It was just something about music. At any volume it felt too loud. It felt chaotic in a way as if too many people were speaking at the same time. It gave him the same level of disgust as a cluttered room.

    The he understood. There were too many instruments, each one playing too many sounds within a small span of time. When a human sings, their voice shifted tones too much and there are too many vibrations coming from each note. Yet, why do others enjoy it?

