Writing Prompt!

From Cheyenne: You are a tree undergoing a thunderstorm for the first time. Write an inner monologue about your experience.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on February 9, 2016, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The weather doesn’t look promising today.
    Well, I suppose I’m not one to say that, all the weather I have ever known was mild, and mostly dry. But the eagerness to pour from the sky made me worry about all possible types of weather. Maybe, it would rain ice today. I’ve heard tell from the humans that pry around these parts that it’s possible.
    The droplets from the sky tell me that today it would not rain ice, but indeed it would rain. And the sky had a broken heart today.
    I realized today was not like everyday. When the sky began to cry, it grew exponentially with every passing moment. Then, a violent strike of electricity flew from the sky, followed by a pounding fist.
    Then, I was flown back further than my stump. I have never been thrust back this far because of the air itself. I struggled to stand up, let alone stay in one place. I wondered if this violence would end, or if the sky had a vendetta against someone here. I hoped for the former, but the longer I waited, the more the odds seemed against me. The strikes and pounds continued, and the air was chilly and threatening.
    The only thing I knew anything about was the rain, and it did act the way I remembered. It acted with the air, and the strikes that seemed in time with the sounds. I stood my ground, as much as I could.
    Then it stopped.
    Abruptly, just as it had begun. I assessed the damage to myself, as well as my surroundings. I was surprised that I was fine, but a tree near me had fallen, with strange burn marks on it’s trunk. I had hoped that the electricity did not cause it to fall, but it seemed as though it did. I thanked nature that I was alive, and well. And I hoped that it wouldn’t happen again.

