Writing Productivity by Natalie

Even the best writers have those days where they feel like they “don’t have time” for writing. In some cases that may be true, but the majority of people (including myself) find this as an easy excuse when we either don’t feel like writing, or would rather do other things.

As a writer in general, it’s very important that you attempt to write every day. It improves your skills and hones your writing abilities by doing it day in and day out. There really is no excuses as I used to write at 2am every night during NaNoWriMo after work. It may not be easy or fun, but if you’re serious about it you will find a way. Here are a few tips to boost your writing productivity!

 

Distractions

If you find yourself getting distracted and losing interest in your writing rather quickly, then you would be in the same camp as me. I have found that when I write (or do anything that requires intense focus and attention) I can stay on task better when no one else in my house is up and about. Those times are either very late at night, or very early in the morning. I am definitely not a morning person, so nighttime is the best for me. Perhaps you have a time in the middle of the day when no one is home so you can find peace and quiet.

 

Set Goals

Perhaps you’re sitting at your computer/notebook and have a totally vague idea about how long you’ll be writing, and what you want to accomplish. To avoid this type of situation, I would suggest finding a simple goal to work towards BEFORE you sit down to write. For example: “I’m going to write for 45 minutes straight.” “I’m going to finish this chapter today.” “My goal is to write 1,000 words in this writing session.” Simple goals like this can give your brain an end point and boost your drive to finish the project.

 

Rewards

Sometimes the best way to get our brains to work towards a simple goal is to bribe it. Maybe not with cash, but something that you wouldn’t otherwise get or do in order to motivate yourself. This could be anything you enjoy: candy, video games, etc. Anything that you can think of that would give you some short-term, well-deserved joy would suit this category perfectly.

 

These few tips are virtually foolproof, and I can speak from experience. I’m sure many of you have some of your own ways that you motivate yourself, and I’d love to hear them! One last note: Inspiration from other writers may also help when you’re in a slump, so if you find it hard to even begin writing (writer’s block, but that’s a whole separate topic), I suggest reading whatever you can.

Posted on March 9, 2016, in Editorial Board Essay. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love this post. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. These are great suggestions!

  3. Aislinn Fallon

    GREAT ADVICE!

