Writing Prompt!

From Natalie: Write about your character describing his/her mother.

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on March 15, 2016, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My mother was my rock, she was warm, and she was soft. She made me the best stories, and my dad would always interject as she told them, he would say silly things to make us laugh. My mother was from Australia, and neither my father nor I got the chance to meet her family because we didn’t have the funds. Yet, she passed away years ago due to a brain tumor. Before she passed away we would spend our days in the cove by our house on the cliff. My dad is a fisherman, and while he fished we would swim. I remember all the times I’d float in the water and feel the warm Californian sun on my body, it reminds me of my mother. She feels just like the warmth the sun gave off, or at least, she used to. As her tumor got worse, she would experience small seizures and so it was dangerous to let her swim. I knew she missed being in the water, and I could often hear her cry from as I lay in bed. Yet I never told her that, because she’d never want to cry in front of me, however, I wouldn’t think any less of her. My mother is the bravest person I’ll ever know, not was, is, and she always will be. She deserved to cry, and one of my regrets is that I was never brave enough to hug her while she was so sad. I still swim, and I continue to float and feel the warmth of the sun as I relax in the water. I’d like to think the sun’s warmth is her hugging me. I don’t know if I believe in a heaven or hell, but I have to believe she’s out there, somehow, still being brave, and pushing me to be brave like her.
    (My Character: Maydock Bast from my unfinished novel, Disgust)

