Writing Prompt!

From Cheyenne: Begin your passage with the following line: “Dazed and disoriented, he stumbled across the patio toward me.”

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on March 29, 2016, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I think we already did this one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Dazed and disoriented, he stumbled across the patio towards me.

    “What was that?” he managed to mumble out.

    I was still confused myself. “I had no clue. That was pretty stupid of you, you know.”

    “I normally get brave, thanks.”

    “Why are you here, anyway? No one comes to this part of the kingdom.”

    “I work for his majesty. My job is to scout out any trouble in the entire kingdom. Because I’m new at this, they give me the dirty work so the old pros can have it easy.”

    I looked over at the cloud of dust the creature left behind.

    “How much of the kingdom have you seen?” I questioned.

    “Just about all of it,” he answered. “Except this place.”

    “And you’ve never seen anything like that before?”

    He shook his head. “And I’ve got to stay here until that thing’s gone. I’ll get a good reward no doubt, if it doesn’t kill me first.”

    I grinned. “Wait, a reward?”

    He nodded. “Enough to live off on for the rest of my life.”

    I didn’t need to hear any more. “I think I know how we can get this monster.”

  3. Dazed and disoriented, he stumbled across the patio toward me. I rushed forward with a gasp, slipping my arm around his shoulders and letting him lean on me. He groaned.
    “What happened? Are you okay?” I questioned. My voice sounded so frightened, so unlike me.
    He grunted. “Don’t want to talk about it.”
    “You better tell me later,” I demanded, and helped him limp to the chairs. He slowly eased down, wincing. I drew back and watched him sitting there, grinding his teeth in pain.
    What was I going to do with him? Surely, I couldn’t leave him there. He looked so exposed…so injured. And the dark, bloody stain damping his pants at the knees didn’t look so good either.
    I sat down on the patio chair behind him, and tried to act confident in what I was doing as I ripped a piece of cloth from my shirt. “This will hurt,” I warned him, and he nodded. He kept his eyes trained on my face as I leaned forward and gently peeled back the cuff of his pants. I tried not to wince as I uncovered the awful, messy wound, for his stare was beginning to feel uneasy. “See,” I told him. “I know how to do this.” Firmly, I wrapped the cloth around his leg, then tied it. It looked tight enough to apply enough pressure to stop the bleeding, without stopping his circulation.
    I turned once again to his face. He grinned at me, painfully. “Well, look who’s become a doctor like her father.”
    “Yeah, right,” I responded, trying to push the worry from my voice as I plastered a fake smile against my face.
    There was still that question I didn’t quite know how to answer, lingering and tugging at my mind. What was I going to do with him now?

  4. Dazed and disoriented, he stumbled across the patio towards me. Instead of looking at him I looked at the woods behind him where the mysterious creature had disappeared. He stumbled his way over to me blood sliding down his cheek and dropping onto the patio at our feet. The claw marks that had broken through the skin on his face meant to protect him.

    “What was that?” He asked breathlessly.

    “I-I have no idea.” My hands sat shaking at my sides.

    We both looked at each other and stood there for another moment before calling the police to report what had happened moments ago. We sat on the porch together in silence while trying to process what the creature had been. All I know is that it was on two legs and it was covered head to toe in fur. No, it wasn’t Big Foot. It seemed more animalistic like and appeared to be more like a human than anything.

    A police car slid into a spot in front of my house but neither of us bothered to move. Two round cops stood before us holding their notepads loosely. There was a look in their eyes that just didn’t sit right with me so I rushed out my side of the story as quickly as possible. As soon as they heard they heard my description something unrecognizable flashed through their eyes. Something was off here.

    “Jack, run!” I shouted.

    We both shot up and bolted to the woods. Soon we were in the middle of nowhere surrounded by trees listening to animalistic growls and snarls surrounding us. They echoed and bounced off the trees surrounding us. As a panic attack rushed through my veins and caused me to drop to my knees I was accepting the fact that we weren’t getting out of this one alive. The odds were stacked against us and there was no turning back and running to the house.

    “Alice…Alice!!” Someone shouted.

    I jumped into a sitting position. I felt the slick sweat covering my skin as I fought to catch my breath. I looked up to see my brother Jack standing there with a worried look on his face. No bandages or scratches on his face.

    “Sorry. Sorry. It was just a nightmare.”

    “As long as you’re okay.” He spoke.

    I looked up at him and saw the same evil look in his eyes that were in the cops eyes. Maybe it wasn’t a dream…

