NAPOWRIMO Day #2

Today’s prompt:

Incorporate the following words into a poem: “danger”; “pensive”; “jarring”; “noble”; “wedding”

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works, how to comment,  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 2, 2016, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I didn’t do this prompt, but here’s my poem:

    The bus is leaving in twenty minutes
    If I don’t walk any faster I will miss it
    And missing is losing and losing isn’t winning
    and i need to win today.

    My thoughts are strict and orderly,
    like stacks of paper in a filing
    cabinet (that i’ll have to sort through after lunch)
    neatly accessible with the simple command: keep going.
    turn left here. stop at this light. two blocks more.

    Other fantasies of the day
    weave themselves in
    to entertain me
    but then something else
    puts my endeavors to a halt
    at this cross walk.

    I hear the beat straining through her headphones
    The silk of an electric violin climbing higher;
    The falsetto augmented by deeper pitches;
    The dotting notes of the xylophone;
    The twang of the bass.
    And though she is only passing by
    Though I can only catch a measure
    Though I’m scrambling in my own world
    With tunnel vision that calls for being
    Hardly concerned with those crossing my path,
    I am close enough and naturally
    The thought flashes in my mind:
    “Hey, that’s the BeeGees.”

    It is hardly a fraction
    of a second
    of our entire existence,
    but it shifts the focus I was employing
    and the song floods my mind–

    And though now she is gone and I am
    nearing the bus stop in mere minutes,
    isn’t it a curious thing
    the BeeGees becomes my playlist til
    I get
    to where
    I am going?

  2. **Did not use the prompt for this**

    Your voice is so sweet, my darling.

    How my fingers itch to trace your smooth strings,

    to rub down your glossy surface with a silken, linen cloth,

    over and over again.

    How I long to close my eyes,

    to feel your scroll resting in my palm,

    to breathe in the luscious fragrance arising from freshly polished maplewood.

    Stretched wrist,

    shaped feet,

    straightened posture,

    deep breath.

    How you come alive when the bow slides upon your strings,

    how my fingers dance as the notes sweetly sing.

    Surely, you are the most beautiful instrument, my dear.

  3. Even the most pensive heart,
    May find itself in danger.
    Of which life it shall start,
    Or which could turn it a stranger.

    There is a difficult path, yet truly noble,
    One path, led solely by the Light.
    Yet knowledge of this path is not global
    There is another, jarring path, much less bright.

    This life is one of earthly success,
    Though the walker will feel lost .
    It comes with little worry or little stress,
    However the heart shall be covered in frost.

    The wedding will come, but to which is the choice
    The second shall cry, while the first rejoice.

  4. How righteous can a human become
    In the face of danger
    Surrounding us entirely without our knowledge
    We become prone to the hazards attached to this world

    The pensive silence of loneliness
    Swallows others who suffer
    Falling into a deep depression
    Where the exit seems invisible to us who cannot see through the darkness

    The jarring sound of a humans support however
    Can liberate anyone from isolation
    Receiving love and sympathy from others
    Openly invites you to a jocund wedding celebration

    • *Forgot to include the word “noble”!

      How righteous can a human become
      In the face of danger
      Surrounding us entirely without our knowledge
      How noble can we become while prone to the hazards attached to this world

      The pensive silence of loneliness
      Swallows others who suffer
      Falling into a deep depression
      Where the exit seems invisible to us who cannot see through the darkness

      The jarring sound of a humans support however
      Can liberate anyone from isolation
      Receiving love and sympathy from others
      Openly invites you to a jocund wedding celebration

  5. – I didn’t use the prompt for the 2nd day, but I did write a short poem.

    I tie my Hands with these Vines of mine,
    they are all different Colors,
    all of different Textures.
    The vines can be Undone,
    possibly by One,
    but maybe None.
    Here I sit,
    Untie, Me

  6. Joy emerged from each guest
    Smiled so hard it hurt our cheeks
    A wedding, such a beautiful thing
    It’s a shame how it ruined everything.

    Cowards ran and hid
    The noble we’ve never seen again
    My definition of danger has been wrong
    Now I barely manage to scrape along

    The world has fallen into ruins
    Scream or run, neither will help
    No more books, just pensive thoughts
    Doing your best to ignore the shots

    It was supposed to be the beginning of my life
    But the world came to a jarring stop
    Close your eyes and forget I was here
    Soon we’ll all just disappear

  7. Alicia-Juliet

    FAIRY WEDDING

    Do you hear the music? Do you hear their laughs?
    Can you hear their voices and their talks?
    Coming from the forest deep.

    The fairy wedding with him and her,
    the noble prince and the beautiful girl.
    Now his pensive look is gone.

    For he has got the one that he loves the most.
    Even though it was at a very high cost,
    with many dangers at his way.

    All the frightening monsters, and the jarring trees.
    But now as all of our guests can see,
    he is the most lucky man on earth.

