NAPOWRIMO Day #6

Today’s prompt:

Write a poetic tribute to an author or poet you love.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works, how to comment,  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 6, 2016, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. – Did a poem, though it doesn’t follow this prompt or the NaPoWriMo one.

    There was Nothing here
    But the Effervescence of
    Happiness Galore.

    Sunlight Filled my room,
    Rays Bouncing off Bright colors,
    A Rainbow of sorts.

    My days Aren’t filled with,
    The Gluttony of the Past,
    Rather with Happiness.

    I haven’t Lived long,
    Yet have Experienced Tons,
    The Good and the Bad.

    I’m just Glad to Live,
    No Longer in my Small shell,
    Immersed in it All.

  2. O’ Great Writer!
    Your stories are so grand!
    With Your great works, life seems lighter,
    You nurture Your characters, holding their hands

    You allow Your characters a mind of their own
    And sometimes they may stumble and fall
    And though they may forget, they are never alone
    You stand by them, through sunshine or rainfall

    Each one, You shepard like a child
    For to You, that is who they are
    Each Your favorite, none exiled
    Even if they run and no matter how far

    Author, Your characters sometimes face defeat
    But also, they are filled with joyous jubilation
    And when their lives are complete
    You allow them a way to find salvation

    Your greatest work is known by all
    Commonly called under the name of, the universe
    But more, those who live on this spinning ball
    And Your creation is said in a single verse:

    “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth” -Genesis 1:1

  3. **Did not use prompt**

    She strives to be who she was never meant to be,
    struggles to find acceptance where there is no meaning.

    She works for a lost cause where she will always fail,
    drinks water that will never quench her thirst, but only make it worse.

    For she searches for the answers, for the meaning for life,
    but does she know how blind she is?

    She complicates things because she lives in a world where there’s always a catch,
    but does she know of true grace and mercy?

  4. Used the napo prompt

    I am incapable of fathoming a universe without chocolate
    sweet and smooth, with a melting afterthought that
    continues to nestle under your tongue.
    It’s the world’s problem solver, no doubt–
    how could one continue to thrive with the knowledge
    there is no access to chocolate?

    an indulgence I believe we all take for granted;
    you peel off the wrapper, toss it away in a frenzy
    your nail chips away at some of the substance and
    you delicately suck it to absorb the rich taste.

    Socolata est tam pulchram. Wrap it in a bow and it looks all the more enticing.

    if you give me a box you become my new favorite person
    as long as you take the ones with liquid fillings (those are never my favorite)
    to know there is chocolate in my fridge paints the day
    a brighter shade. there’s more worth coined in the sunlight–

    Darling, worries cease to exist when chocolate becomes your source
    of comfort. They become emperors of your focus, wiping away
    all things crowding your brain. why fill it with anything other
    than chocolate?

    I place a square on my tongue and reluctantly store the others
    away. Letting it sit there and enrich my taste buds with the
    delicacy of a lifetime, I sigh and savor.

    –but who has time to savor when there’s more to be had? I swallow the thing and reach for another–
    Indeed, my problem has just been illustrated in a poem!

  5. Alicia-Juliet

    LIKE THEM I WISHED TO BE

    What would my childhood have been,
    If your books I had never seen.
    Your characters are friends to me,
    like them I wished to be.

    My favorite, Madicken dear,
    the sweetest girl that has no fear.
    I love the story yet today,
    but down a roof is not my way.

    Also Pippi much adored,
    with horse and ape and dad aboard.
    That strong, kind girl adults need not.
    For those who small she faugh.

    Mischievous Emil, so sweet,
    helps everyone both poor and weak.
    But sometimes doesn’t go his way,
    in woodshed he’ll spend his day.

    The Lionhearts strong brother fond.
    Not even death could break their bond.
    Ronja across the Devils Throat jumped,
    made parents realize not to fight.

    You taught me lessons for life along.
    From care for all to being strong.
    Adults they aren’t always right.
    Thanks Astrid, for the good I’ll fight.

    To my favorite author, Astrid Lindgren (1907-2002).

