NAPOWRIMO Day #10

Today’s prompt:

Describe feelings toward a liquid (tea, coffee, hot chocolate, soda, etc.)

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works, how to comment,  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 10, 2016, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thick beads of condensation
    Trail down the crimson can
    My current energy foundation
    A drink known by almost every man

    It fizzes and bubbles
    My stress slowly fading
    As my blood sugar doubles
    My worries degrading

    The cold carbonation races down my throat
    As I gaze into the murky liquid, colored copper
    The bubbles rise to the top, there they float
    I take another chug, my gulping hardly proper

    I smile and watch my work start waxing
    As I sit back with my Coke, relaxing

  2. – Following no prompts

    She listened to the words of others,
    Because she trusted them to know her mind.

    She trusted people to leader her life,
    Because she trusted they’d choose an easy path.

    She trusted the world to provide,
    Because she thought good things always come back.

    She trusted the animals to be caring,
    Because she believed claws weren’t meant to harm.

    She couldn’t trust herself,
    Because she hadn’t experienced enough.

    She couldn’t trust her mind,
    Because it’s never filled with her thoughts.

    She couldn’t trust her heart,
    Because it was as naive as her soul.

    She couldn’t trust her life,
    Because she lived it for the will of others.

  3. Coffee

    It slides down my throat,
    Giving me a burst of energy
    Sometimes sweet as honey,
    Other times bitter as cocoa
    Its aroma awakes me
    From my deepest dreams,
    Making me gravitate to it.

  4. Book Spine poetry, anyone?

    The Age of Innocence:

    Born Free,

    Wonderstuck,

    running out of time.

  5. (Book Spine Poetry)

    The truth runner
    left behind
    in a city tossed and broken
    after the rain.

  6. Alicia-Juliet

    WATER, WATER

    Head hurting,
    through burning.
    Wonder why forgetting.

    Mouth drying,
    body’s tiring.
    Wonder how surviving.

    Why did I,
    leave behind,
    the drink I’m needing now.

    Working hard,
    reaching star.
    But body’s drying out.

    Oh water, water,
    there it is.
    How wonderful it’s feeling.

    When sipping down,
    throat of my.
    And keeping me alive.

