NAPOWRIMO Day #11

Today’s prompt:

Ode to a social media network.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works, how to comment,  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 11, 2016, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Unfortunately I didn’t do the prompt, but my ode would definitely be ‘you make me a better procrastinator xD”
    ______________________________________________
    The Depth of a Photograph

    (style: pantoum)

    Bent and frayed and fuzzy grained hues,
    [or] delightful sharp tones with clear faces,
    A moment captured for infinite views
    A visual click back to those places.

    Delightful sharp tones with clear faces
    I can see the surprise sprung upon your eyes,
    A moment captured for infinite views
    This image allowing the past and present close ties.

    I can see the surprise sprung upon your eyes
    You were grabbing my hand as an eagle soared by
    This image allowing the past and present close ties
    Forever recalling a time when it was you and I.

    You were grabbing my hand as an eagle soared by
    Hitting the camera [which] hindered my goal to capture it clearly
    Forever recalling a time when it was you and I
    When I look at it now there is a pain that comes dearly.

    Hitting the camera hindered my goal to capture it clearly
    [Just like] me to myself, letting my fears invade our love
    When I look at it now there is a pain that comes dearly,
    I could have saved it all if I had only rose above.

    Me to myself, letting my fears invade our love
    I must say goodbye now
    I could have saved it all if I had only rose above
    These pictures show me what I once did right and how.

    I must say goodbye now
    A visual click back to those places.
    These memories show me what I once did right and how–
    Delightful sharp tones and clear faces.

  2. Did not follow the prompt
    ________________________

    Mother, you’ve taught me what I need to know
    Through all my life, you’ve helped me grow

    Every day you shown how much you care
    Anything that’s yours, you’re willing to share

    Of all the things you’ve done for me,
    You’re making me who I am to be

    You’ve me given your time and love
    You’re more than all the stars above

    You help me through my days of strife
    You lead me through my every-day life

    There are more times than I can say
    I would not give a moment away

    Mother, you’re better than all the rest
    Of all the moms, you’re simply the best.

  3. Dear Pinterest,
    thank you for giving me something to waste my time with.
    For without you,
    maybe being “bored” would be possible.

    Dear Pinterest,
    thank you for the random inspiration when Writing Block hits hard.
    I see my characters in my head, every distinct detail
    but sometimes I need a base.

    Dear Pinterest,
    thank you for the relatable/hilarious/peculiar memes I love so much.
    It’s a good but scary feeling to know I’m not alone
    in this crazy fandom universe.

    Dear Pinterest,
    thank you for the being the best time-waster yet worthwhile social media website out there.
    Without you,
    who knows how I’d get all my clever writing quotes.

    Facebook?
    Instagram?
    Snapchat?
    Haha.

    I’d rather be Pinteresting.

  4. This might be the reality for many people, and also the danger with social media.
    So don’t forget to make REAL friends, and meet them in REAL life.

    Facebook, and Twitter and Instagram,
    thank you for making me who I am.
    You give me a profile for all to see,
    only I use my fanta-see

    I can choose my way, I can choose my look
    for people to see, in this little book.
    No one will ever know my true side,
    as long as I hide inside.

    Everyday long, I sit here and wait,
    for the likes to come, for it is my fate.
    Am I good enough? Do I need revise?
    Do they like me, is profile nice?

    But in reality, I have no friends at all,
    as I go online, I’m the most popular by far.
    Facebook, and Twitter, and Instagram,
    thank you for hiding who I truly am.

