Post NaPoWriMo by Grace

For all of my fellow poets: NaPoWriMo has come and gone. It was a crazy thirty days in which I somehow managed to write a poem each and every day with few obstacles. I truly learned a lot and I hoped those of you who participated did as well. It’s hard to write a poem a day, so researching new styles and topics always helps to alleviate us out of those situations of writer’s block or drawing blanks, because it gives us something new to try. At the same time, we’re learning how to write in those styles, and though the product may not be the most embellished, you experienced the process of writing it, which you can use in the future.

Now you’re wondering, what do you do after NaPo? I encourage all of you to take what you learned and apply it to writing in the future! If you learned new styles during the month of April, continue writing using those styles. Alter them, make them your own, attempt to work even harder than you did in NaPo, so you have embellished pieces! With these new styles, add to your poetry repertoire and expand your areas of expertise. Poetry is a work of art. Not only is the content important, but I consider the format and visual layout of the poem of equal importance. I think it’s important we make sure to remember these things as we write our poetry–not only focus on content, but give attention to format, visual layout, punctuation, all things that continue to add on to messages and meanings we have intended to create while writing. If you followed the NaPoWriMo.net site, I hope you broadened your knowledge of poetry (not just styles, but the kinds of topics you could write about!) by reading the different poems selected by the owner of the website. There were some incredibly interesting pieces, and also excellent examples of poetry styles we can utilize as we grow in our writing.

Though we no longer will be surrounded by other poets participating, keep going! While this challenge was typically quantity over quality, start reversing it so you can grow as a poet following NaPo, and are ready to face the next NaPoWriMo in 2017. The goal of the challenge was really, to me, to learn and expand upon your knowledge as a writer and a poet. I knew that going into this challenge, I just didn’t know what I was going to learn. Frankly I learned plenty, and some of the things I learned I’m going to keep working on (such as the book spine poetry. That was very cool!). I hope you learn from each challenge you participate in, whether it be NaNoWriMo or NaPoWriMo. Keep writing and learning!

Posted on May 18, 2016, in Editorial Board Essay. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great advice! Writers could also make a collection of their NaPoWriMo and create an anthology, if they wish.

