Writing Prompt!

From Natalie: Your character struggles to convince someone of something unbelievable. What is it?

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on October 27, 2016, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “Dude, I’m telling you what I saw was real! I’ve never asked you to take my word on anything before, so why can’t you believe me now?” pleaded Jake.
    “I don’t know, Jake. Are you sure that’s what you saw? It could have been anything else.” replied Sam doubtfully.
    “Yes, I am very sure that’s what I saw. If I thought even for a second that it could have been anything else, I wouldn’t be talking to you right now.”
    “Okay man, I’ll believe you just tell me again what you saw.”
    “I’m not sure I can repeat that, what if the phone lines are bugged or something?”
    “We are not on the NSA watch list, just tell me again so I can get my head around it.”
    “Okay, here goes nothing.” Jake breathed through the phone then continued, “It was my dieting mom in the woods huddled over a tray full of cupcakes. There it’s out. I’m sure that’s what I saw.”

  2. “I’m not crazy,” Patrick stated.

    “You just told me that my you found my horse and he’s been giving you directions. I’d say that counts as crazy,” Harper declared. “We’re far from home, and my horse barely lets out a neigh, let alone directions!”

    “Then if you don’t believe me, you’ll have to come back and see for yourself,” Patrick answered, a scowl on his face. He turned and began to retrace his steps.

    Eventually he heard the footsteps of Harper following him.

    “How far back is this horse?” Harper asked dubiously.

    Patrick shrugged. “Not far, but he might have moved a little.”

    “Or entirely,” Patrick caught Harper mumble under her breath.

    After walking for five minutes, the horse was nowhere to be found. Patrick began to sweat from the idea of the horse never being there.

    “It must have run off,” Patrick concluded.

    “Or it’s never been here,” Harper answered. “Maybe we should just go back and get some sleep. You probably hallucinated out of exhaustion.”

    Patrick sighed. He didn’t want to go any further and make a bigger fool out of himself. He agreed and began to walk back in the direction of their campsite.

    When they finally arrived back, there was an unusual sight. A horse was going through their food.

    “Oh gosh,” he mumbled. “I thought you guys were kidnapped or something. I started to panic… and then I saw this food! And um, well… this is kinda embarrassing.”

