NANOWRIMO Day 4

Need some inspiration? Use this prompt to help propel your story!

Introduce the antagonist (if you planned on having one) by making them interact with the protagonist at a dance party.

Post your word count to comments!

Posted on November 4, 2016, in NaNoWriMo, Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Some weeks after receiving the letter, we were invited to a ball. Owen insisted that we spend some of the money we had laid aside for a new dress for myself, but I refused unless he got something as well. So we both had a new outfit, mine a baby blue gown with a matching corset, his a black coat with tails, a white shirt, a top hat, and breeches.

    A few days after our purchase, we rented out a carriage and made our way to the ball.

    Rarely would we ever attend such parties, finding them useless and ridiculous, but we both agreed that after receiving that letter, which Owen still thinks is from a stranger who intended to play some kind of trick on us, we needed to relax a little. I highly doubted Jack would be able to track us down at the ball, which, fortunately, was a costume ball. Without talking to every woman at the ball, he would never be able to find me, and the black and white outfit of Owen was rather popular, so there would be at least twenty other men with the exact same clothes. We would be hard to find, to say the least.

    Still, a part of me doubted myself. How closely was he watching us? He did have his ways of coming about information, so it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch to assume he knows where the ball will be held and exactly what we would be wearing.

    I shook my head to dislodge such silly ideas while we sat in the carriage. Owen gave me a questioning look, so I replied to his unspoken question by mumbling, “Just thinking.” Knowing me, he turned back to look out the window. I could get lost in thought to the point of forgetting my surroundings, and several times that meant for him to stop me last minute from walking into trees, fences, ditches, and rivers.

    At the ball, I found that my assumptions were terribly, terribly wrong. There must have been a theme that we did not hear about because everyone was dressed in red and white. We both stood out like wolves in a flock of sheep. Owen just laughed about it, not knowing the danger he could be in, but I despaired. My humble, innocent-looking dress was unmistakable amongst the risque reds and whites. Owen was a little better off, since his costume was only partly black and some people had worn darker colors to try to be more unique, so I was not worried about him. We lowered our masks and gravitated towards the refreshments.

    Not long after we arrived, the first song started; a lively tune. Owen whisked me away to the dance floor, much to my dismay. I wanted to keep an eye on him, and that would be impossible if we were focused on dancing to the merry music. Soon, he was lost in the crowd, and I was tossed from one dance partner to another. I searched the covered faces for him and found him dancing with a young woman in a lovely white dress. Contented, I turned to focus on the song.

    It had been many years since I had danced like that. I was a young girl then and very energetic on the dance floor. How carefree I had been…

    The song ended, and I sought to find Owen again. I was only slightly winded, but when I found him, he was breathing heavily, quite unused to such exercise. I laughed and made my way towards him.

    “For a farmer’s son, you sure are out of shape, Ow-” I was cut off when the man turned to me. He wore the same mask as my friend, the same clothes, but he was impossibly tall. How could I have not seen it? His curly blonde hair was falling out from under his hat, not the black hair of the man I-

    The man turned to face me, interrupting my thoughts, and the half-mask failed to hide the mirth in his eyes.

    “Why, hello, love.”

    My heart stopped and I nearly fainted, but I forced myself to recover and look him in the eyes. “What are you doing here, Jack?”

    The next song started and he offered me his hand. “Oh, you know, enjoying the company of a beautiful lady.” I glared at him and refused to accept his offer to dance. His eyes turned dark and his voice dropped down an octave, the way it would when he was particularly angry. He wouldn’t do anything here, in front of all these people, though, would he?

    I decided not to risk it and gingerly accepted his hand. Unfortunately for me, the song playing was a slower waltz, making it rather difficult to change partners. Breaking away in the middle of the dance would prove to attract far too much attention. Instead, I gave myself to hoping with all my heart that Owen would see my discomfort and try to save me from this situation.

    “So, did you get my notes, love?” His eyes had softened, and he spoke very gently, but I was not fooled. He was a monster, and anything he did couldn’t be trusted.

    “Do not call me love,” I spat out bitterly. His hand tightened on my waist. “Yes, I got your notes.”

    “I will call you what I want, Isabella, and you will answer to that.” He was glaring again, his tone harsh. I turned my head down, unable to meet his cold stare.

    “I am not yours anymore, Jack. You can’t manipulate me.”

    He grinned. “Oh, you would be surprised.”

    “Isabella?”

    My head snapped around and I found myself incredibly relieved to see Owen. He was grinning ear-to-ear, and I couldn’t help but mirror his expression. For a moment, I forgot whose hold I was in until Jack kindly dug his fingernails into my sides.

    “Hello, sir. I see you have met my fiance, Isabella.” He nodded to me. “If you do not mind, I would like to take her back to finish this song.”

    Jack was obviously frustrated but did a wonderful job hiding it. He couldn’t refuse without causing a ruckus, something that he wanted less than I did. “Indeed, I do mind, but take her anyway. I wouldn’t want to keep you two separated for too long, now, would I?” He seemed to direct this to me and I ignored him. Owen seemed a little confused by the odd statement but said nothing. He offered me his hand and I took it eagerly, allowing him to pull me to the other side of the ballroom.

    “Who was he?” he asked, not at all angry or jealous, simply curious.

    “Just some congressman who wanted to get me alone. Thank you for saving me, by the way.” I suddenly felt sick with my lie and tugged Owen over to some chairs to save me from standing.

    “It is no problem, darling,” he said softly, turning to face me. His eyebrows furrowed and he held my cheek gently. “Isabella, you look ill. Would you like to go home?”

    “Yes.”

    • I am woefully behind n my word count. I am going to have to spend a few hours just catching up. Day four, word count (so far): 2,201

  2. This was the last place I wanted to be.
    I’ve had my fair share of high school parties in the past, most of which brought about regret. What was this sick trick? This was the place that he told me to come, I was sure of it. But why? And was it even a he?
    The flashing lights were blinding, and was giving me the worst headache. Everyone was dressed in a mask but me.
    Great. I wasn’t even going to know what this guy looked like. Why would-
    “Glad to see my message was received.”
    I yanked my head around in all different directions, trying to spot the male voice that had just spoken to me. It was crowded, and nobody was looking in my general direction. It took me a moment to realize that there was no way that I could hear someone over this music.
    He was communicating with me through my head.
    “Yes. You can hear me can’t you?” His voice was deep and sent chills down my spine.
    “Who are you?” I whispered silently, hoping that the mysterious voice could hear me. “Why did you tell me to come here?”
    “Because both you and I know that you’re special. I haven’t found someone like you in a long time. Besides, isn’t this place…familiar to you?”
    I hoped that I didn’t know what he was talking about, but I did.
    “How do you know about that? I’m not that person anymore,” I spoke through gritted teeth. A fire was burning within me, and all I wanted was to give this guy a piece of my mind in person.
    “How I know this doesn’t matter. Have you ever heard of a word called precognition?”
    I shook my head.
    “It means to predict the future, being able to see events before they happen. Those things you are seeing are real, Daniel. Events that just simply haven’t happened yet. I can help you, I can teach you to control it.”
    Thoughts swirled around in my mind. I didn’t want to believe him. Seeing the future? That’s nuts. Yet a part of me was trying to tell me that what he was saying was true.
    “What I say is true,” the voice said as if he had just read my mind. “Look up.”
    I turned my head upward, and my eyes met a small balcony with a view of everyone in the large and chaotic crowd. He was standing on it. Part of his face was covered by a white mask, and he was wearing a tuxedo with his dark hair messy yet pulled nicely back at the same time. I couldn’t even tell if I knew who he was because of the mask, but I could tell that he was looking right at me despite the flashing lights and hundreds of people. Then, with a blink of an eye, he was gone.
    “WAIT!” I cried, but my voice was drowned out in the music. The weight of his words sat upon my brain like a sitting duck.
    Precognition? What?
    Someone tapped on my shoulder, and when I turned around, I was relieved to see Camilla, who came as backup in case anything went haywire.
    “Well did you find him?” She asked impatiently, shouting over the loud atmosphere.
    “Sorta,” I shouted back. “But I think I have a plan.”

  3. final word count of the day: 8,028 (unless I have more time at the end of the day!)

  4. Rosalind Rohrbaugh

    Day 4 Current Word Count: 11,500 🙂

