A Royal Argument by Cristi

Even after walking in complete and utter silence for almost 20 minutes, the two teenagers did not notice that they were being watched. Perhaps it was because the annoyance felt between the two forced them to not pay attention to their surroundings. Perhaps it was because humans were rather foolish. The Cheshire cat didn’t know, but he planned on finding out. Finally, the two began speaking.
“Why don’t you tell me something you’ve never told anyone before?” Elle asked the knight.
“Fine,” Christian replied, looking at her. “There are no beaches in Canada.”
“Yes there are. What are you talking about? Of course there are beaches in Canada!”
“I know. That why I’ve never told anyone that before.”
“Mean.”
Mutually irked, the two began walking in silence once again.
“Look!” Elle’s voice echoed throughout the woods.
“The air doesn’t talk, you know.” Elle jumped at the sound.
“Wait! What’s that?” A few feet away, a purple, glittery scroll sat.
Elle snatched the scroll off of the ground. It started trembling the second she picked it up.
“Whoa,” resounded about the woods. It hit the ground and glitter flew everywhere as the scroll flew open. Elle jumped back, and Christian looked over her shoulder.
Elle snatched the scroll off of the ground. In purple pastel writing was written, “Fire and flowers will lead you. Beware of the dark.”
“Well then, we should get you to the castle, Princess, it gets dark soon.” Christian smiled at Elle smugly.
“We? I am perfectly capable of getting myself there, I think.”
“You don’t even know where the castle is!”
Elle scoffed and pointed in front of her. “That way.” The top of the castle was visible, even from their location deep in the woods.
“Ah, fair enough. But who knows, you may run into-“ a dramatic pause was offered, “a monster.”
“Whatever. I just need to go.”
“I mean, I would want as much help as I could get if I was lost in an enchanted forest. You’ve already fallen down a hole.” The knight started walking away.
“You did too!”
“Yes, but not today. You’ve also met a wizard, and I believe you’ve been captured by a troll.” Elle glared at Christian and stalked off in the direction of the castle tops.
“Hey, get on the horse before you get eaten by a dragon.” Elle pretended to ignore him.
“Look, you’re the princess. I’m a knight. I’m supposed to help you, not prance around on a horse while following you.”
“That’s stupid.”
“That’s pretty much the law. I have to help you. And, princess or not, it’s the law that you listen to me.”
Elle narrowed her eyes. He knew he was right, and Elle knew he was right, and he seemed like he had a big ego already, so Elle wasn’t about to comply.
“I’ll have a fabulous time being an insurgent then. Besides, I’m the princess, I’ll be forgiven.”
“And your dad’s the king.”
“That’s precisely why I’m the princess!”
“I’m aware of that. But you’re missing the point. Your dad, the king, set these rules for you. You have to follow them.”
“And I if don’t?”
“Who knows? We’re living in the medieval times right now. What are forms of punishment during this time? What did AP World History teach me about? Dungeons? Guillotines, maybe?”
“Are you insane? I’m the princess, remember? My dad won’t care.”
“Right. He won’t care about what you do to get out of here, but I can bet that he’s really going to care when his best knight walks away from you right now. For all we know, you could get stolen by a gnome the second I turn around. Would we really want to risk that? I don’t mind risking it that much, just so you know, but I have a job and I’d like keeping it. Nothing personal.”
“Once again: mean.”
“It takes one to know one, princess.”
Elle resisted glaring at him. She didn’t want him to know that he royally ticked her off.

Posted on November 20, 2016, in Student Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This is really good! I always have troubles writing arguments because I tend to live in the mindset of one of the characters. The responses I come up with are always predictable and rather lame, partly because I am not very good at partaking in this “argument” thing. I wish I had the ability to make a comeback that is not expected by anyone. You did this really well, great job!

    • Wow-thank you, Brianna! I really appreciate it. I like to include sarcasm and bantering in stories just because I can relate (to the sarcasm aspect) in the story. 🙂 Thanks for the kind words! 🙂

  2. I love how independent the princess is. This character is so divergent from regular princesses who need a guy to come and save them

  3. Thank you for posting! 🙂

