Poem by Kate

I’ve never understood the fear of death.
We’re born, we live, we die and then everything goes dark.
Do you remember being in the womb? No? I didn’t think so…
So how is being unborn any different than being dead?
We hear nothing, we see nothing, and we feel nothing.
We aren’t even aware that there is a ‘nothing’ to be afraid of.
So why are we so scared?
Why do we act like it’s this big bad boogeyman that stalks our every move?
I think it’s because we like having control.
And you can’t control death.

Posted on December 3, 2016, in Student Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Kate this is really good!!!!

  2. This is well written, but I must say that I disagree. I am personally terrified of dying because of the idea that there might be nothing. We can’t even fathom what that would be like. Besides, what if I die before I leave my mark on Earth? What if I die before I go to college, get married, have a family? What if I never end up being important to anyone?

    • I saw that, but it doesn’t change my thoughts. I am a Christian, but not a very good one. I believe, but I still fear that everything I trust in isn’t true. It is an overwhelming fear that I can’t seem to get over.

    • Hey Brianna, thank you for expressing your fears. I just want you to know that you are important, whether it seems so or not. And these fears you have, you musn’t let them overwhelm you. I advise you to not focus on death so much, to live your life as it is as best as you can, without fear of whether you “leave your mark.” Truthfully I’ve never understood what leaving your mark really means, but I’d be content with touching one person at the very least (a family member, a close friend). Don’t let the “unknown,” if you don’t trust that Heaven might exist, scare you, because for now you have your life to live. Just focus on that and being who you are, OK? Hope you’re well,
      Grace

  3. Katie, wow! This definitely puts things in perspective.

  4. Erica DeCrescenzo

    Deep! I love the way you feeling poured out in this poem i could feel the ache of your heart. the burning feeling from your eyes before the tear would fall. THIS IS AMAZING!

