A Year’s Gone By Kayle

A year’s gone by
Since the day, you left
I still hear your voice
Still, see your smile
And feel your warmth
A year’s gone by
Still, I cry
Sadness is all
You left behind
A year’s gone by
Day by day
A new beginning
I never take
It’s been a year
I’m still alone
My heart damaged
But less broken
A year’s gone by
I finally smile
It’s taken me this little while
A year’s gone by as it always does
You’re nothing more
Then you were before
A memory of love
Now forgotten
A year’s gone by
With no reason to cry
All you did
Was say goodbye

Posted on December 5, 2016, in Student Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. This is really good, Kayle. I wish I could write like this 🙂

  2. This is really emotional!

  3. This really conveys emotion! Great job! 🙂

  4. Wow, Kayle! This is amazing. The last line is so sad. 😦 Beautifully written!

  5. Yes I agree with all of the above comments. The grief really shines through the tone of the poem. I love how you put this together. Great job!

  6. Erica DeCrescenzo

    Wow this is amazing Kayle!
    The way you interpreted all of your feeling of this certain someone into this page is just amazing I love the way you did your verbage just WOW! I am just in awh with your writing and the way you put your all in it.
    Don’t ever give up on writing 🙂
    -Erica

