Writing Prompt!

From Rosalind: Describe your character’s holiday season (celebrations, gifts, decorations).

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments!

Posted on December 15, 2016, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Erica always loved Christmas…Until she turned 12. Suddenly, when December rolled around, she wasn’t uber excited about the most wonderful time of the year. It just didn’t feel the same for some reason, and she didn’t know why. The day after Thanksgiving, on Black Friday, she’d put the fake Christmas tree up with her family, and insist on putting the angel on top, but it didn’t feel the same as usual. Her church began their countdown to Christmas as they went through Advent, and she and her family even lit the Advent candle during the second week of Advent at church. But still, she just didn’t have the Christmas spirit. She watched every movie ABC Family’s 25 Days of Christmas had to offer, but still, she wasn’t having a holly jolly Christmas. She helped her dad put up the green and blue fairy lights outside, wrapped them around the pine trees in the front yard. As Christmas Eve came upon her, her family made their famous Noche Bueno meal at 5 o’ clock on the dot…But she was unfazed. Wrapping the last present for her sister, she sat on the sofa at 3 a.m. in the morning, staring at all the presents her parents had put under the tree. The radio played softly in the corner, for her parents forgot to turn it off. She looked out the window, and noticed a bright white star in the sky staring back at her. As Silent Night played softly in the distance, for some reason, she began to feel as if it was finally Christmas.

  2. What even is the most wonderful time of the year? Can someone explain this to me?
    Snow falling means layers upon layers of clothing that you’ll just have to take off when you step inside. I can’t take more than one sip of hot cocoa without the feeling of sugar rushing through my bloodstream. Wrapping presents too, HOW DO YOU WRAP THE ENDS? I never know what to get people, and giving gifts seems like more like an obligation than from out of the kindness of one’s heart. They play the same Christmas songs over and over again just to keep it cranking in your head until November, then once it’s gone, then surprise! It’s December again.
    I never understood the hype.
    Even as a kid growing up with Christmas lights practically as my night light, I never understood this season. And Santa? I knew my mother’s handwriting when I saw it.
    I hate to be a Scrooge, but perhaps there’s just something that i’m missing.
    And don’t even get me started with New Years.

  3. Christmas was the one time of the year, Clara actually felt something. Although, she didn’t know what feeling resonated in her chest around this time of outdoor cold celebrations and warm fiery cheer. She knew the feeling was ethereally and rarely lasted, so she always took Christmas as an opportunity to saturate herself in her own small partaking of merry glee.

    She hung wreaths and stockings all over her room. Sh ran barefoot across the mushy freezing snow. She sat outside on her porch breathing in the warm woodsy scent lingering in the air as everyone burned wood for heat in their homes. (I admit I do this also:) ) Anything this small girl could do to make the happy and festive Christmas feelings incarnate her soul; this naive but melioristic little girl would do.

  4. This Christmas, I set a goal to appreciate the cherished moments I had with those whom I loved, and I was determined to do well by it.
    After years of rummaging through catalogues and pursuing store windows for the perfect gifts, I eventually became convinced that the looming monetary value attached to each present could never accurately convey my appreciation for each person in my life. Oh what standards I was holding myself up to, to deliver equally genuine and generous gifts, only to be left with the feeling that I could have done more year after year! Overtime, I became disposed to believe that I was likely on a route to madness; essentially trapped in a competitive loop.
    This holiday season, I chose to devote quality time to embracing loved ones, to reminiscing over past times, and to creating new memories in lieu of accruing pristine wrapping paper or meticulously preparing decorations, christmas cards, and milk and cookies for the big day. This holiday season, the value of the gift of compassion and companionship has revealed itself a little each day. Bundling up with hot chocolate late into the frosty night, ice-skating in the linked arms of friends, and embarrassing myself unabashedly caroling with young cousins, all have proven to bring much more joy into my life than any avalanche of presents under the tree.
    The holidays this year have not been unpropitious to say the least, which has only encouraged me to want to continue indulging in the pure delight of celebrating bringing friends and family together all year long. And I am ever the richer for it.

