Writing Prompt!

From Natalie: Your character finds him/herself in a long-lost historical site, what happens next?

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on March 21, 2017, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. POP! My head rushed and swam. I opened my eyes and the colors dancing around me seemed to be just that, colors. Blurry streaks of tan, red, navy blue, and yellow. My eyes slowly focused on my surroundings. I was in the middle of a sacred Native American dance ceremony, the blurs of colors were actually the ghosts of men and women dancing around a blazing fire. At first, all heard were the pounding of dozens of bare feet hitting the Earth, but then I heard the drums. Reverberating, powerful booms echoed throughout the clearing and were soon joined by the shaking of beads against dried wood. Then, the most majestic sound I’d ever heard joined in. Over 20 women began to sing their tribal songs, their voices magnifying and extending on for what seemed like miles. As mentioned before, all of this was a memory, the remnants of a once beautiful and thriving family, then it vanished. All of it gone. It was all gone. I was standing in the middle of an empty clearing, in the middle of the night, but those few seconds of vision I will never forget.

