NAPOWRIMO Day #7

Today’s prompt:

Give your poem a subtle plot twist.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Please read How to Post During NaPoWriMo. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 7, 2017, in NaPoWriMo, Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Gabriel Gonzalez

    A Dull Night

    Lone gemstone of the clear cloudless night –
    A bright contrast: cratered crescent of ashen white –
    An austere overseer, agleam with quiet light –
    A stark remembrance, an ember of a rural sight

    But the night is no longer the same
    Most of the stars have left – perhaps in shame –
    Of what was once infinity, only few remain
    The moon did stay, but it shines in vain

    The horizon, an estuary of moonshine and synthetic,
    Has become a losing battle for the night and its aesthetic;
    The horizon, a frontier between man and skies,
    Has become aglow with street and city lights

    A new scene for the night:
    In a street lit by yellow and off-white –
    A car and its mechanical howl
    Nearing a junction, slowing to a prowl,
    Pouncing, as the owlish red eyes become greens –
    The view of a single corner in a world that never sleeps

  2. Note: I don’t think this applies to the prompt.
    She dives with the rending waves,
    Dances with the flurrying breeze,
    Hides in the crystal caves,
    And lives in the tallest trees.
    She swims to the depths with the sharks,
    Runs though the blistering heat with the cats,
    Her melodic voice matches with the larks,
    And she flies into the sky with the bats.
    She is mother Earth.

  3. You can interpret this as you want. I’m not quite sure if this poem has a subtle twist or not. I suppose it depends on the reader. Anyway here it is:

    I laugh and I smile
    With true friends by my side
    I savor their closeness
    But you tell me they arent real
    That they don’t care about me
    They never have and never will

    I catch my reflection
    And will myself to believe
    that I am beautiful just as I am
    But you remind me I’m not good enough
    You pick out my every flaw
    You say I’m not worth it; I’ll never really be loved

    I am overwhelmed, drowning
    in responsibility and expectations
    In the person I want to be
    But you say I am just overreacting
    That I’m making it up
    That I only want to cause a scene

    I hate that I give in to all of your lies
    I believe each word
    Any progress I make crashes down
    You twist and you taunt me
    The worst bully of all
    I long to escape from this misery

    And the worst part is
    You’re not even real
    You’re just the voice in my head
    That won’t ever stop
    And I’m desperately searching
    for a way to shut you off

    But each time I try
    No matter how hard
    Despite past success
    You return without warning, not even a sign
    I’m trapped in a prison
    That only exists in my mind

  4. Unrelated to prompt:

    If you want to write
    Find the constellations
    Carried in your heart

    🙂

  5. I fall on you in times in need
    And you comfort me in times of hardest strife
    When no one will follow, I know you’ll follow my lead
    You there when words cut through me like a knife

    I constantly wonder how you put up with me
    Why you’re always there even when I don’t ask
    I sometimes wonder if you can see
    How you comfort me in any task

    As the years go by
    And I watch as we both grow
    Yet time cannot stop you from being neigh
    Even as you are old and slow

    And I know that through any fog
    Even after you are long gone
    You will still be the best dog
    Any human can wish upon.

  6. I fall on you in times in need
    And you comfort me in times of hardest strife
    When no one will follow, I know you’ll follow my lead
    You there when words cut through me like a knife

    I constantly wonder how you put up with me
    Why you’re always there even when I don’t ask
    I sometimes wonder if you can see
    How you comfort me in any task

    As the years go by
    And I watch as we both grow
    Yet time cannot stop you from being neigh
    Even as you are old and slow

    And I know that through any fog
    Even after you are long gone
    You will still be the best dog

  7. This should apply to the prompt.

    You made me laugh
    You made me cry
    You always made me wonder why
    You made me tough
    You made me rough
    You made me care
    More than I should
    You made me worry
    More than I could
    You made life fun
    Until you were gone
    Then life felt done
    You came back to me
    For barely any time
    You told me not to be sad
    Not to be mad
    But to live life
    Ignoring pain and strife
    You made me into who I am today
    I never should have shooed you away.

