NAPOWRIMO Day #11

Today’s prompt:

Write a poem inspired by an instrumental piece of music.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Please read How to Post During NaPoWriMo. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 11, 2017, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Unrelated to prompt, but my submission for today!

    You can do it
    This I know
    It is in your heart
    It is in your bones

  2. Flowing in and out of consciousness
    Flashes of brilliant light and blotches of darkness
    Peaceful notes and screams of terror
    Moments of triumph and moments of error

  3. I rather enjoy Chinese traditional music and strongly recommend a listen, so if you don’t know what an erhu is, look up some traditional solos played with that instrument.

    Silence has as much meaning as sound,
    A truth I learn as I sit in agonizing stillness.
    I wish to sing, to dance, to unleash myself,
    The anxiety and frustration are overwhelming.

    Then a gentle sound, so soft, so careful,
    Pierces the painful silence, wonderful perfection.
    A sound like weeping follows it shortly after,
    So real and emotional I hold back my own tears.

    A song was being played then with incredible skill,
    An ode to a country thousands of miles away.
    It was like a human voice singing beautifully,
    But it was only a two-stringed violin, the erhu.

  4. (Not related to the prompt)

    You and I aren’t all that different, my friend
    I also contemplate why we’re here
    And I sometimes break before I bend
    And sometimes I feel overwhelmed with fear,

    Don’t raise your shield, my friend
    I will not spit cruel words at you
    I reach out, and a hand I will lend
    I only ask for you not to look so blue,

    You are oh so special, my friend
    The world does not reflect who you are
    Perhaps you need help breaking this mend
    I promise that I will never be too far.

  5. *unrelated to prompt*

    You look at me with hope in your eyes
    Not knowing that all you see are lies
    You look at me for inspiration
    When I can’t even focus on concentration
    You look at me like I am the world
    When I can’t even get your hair curled
    You look at me with love in your eyes
    And even though it came to me as a surprise
    You love me for me
    Not for talent, knowledge, or courage
    But for me pure and simple
    And I love you back.

