NAPOWRIMO Day #14

Today’s prompt:

Let’s get classic; write a poem about a great love in a classic form (sonnet, lyric, etc).

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Please read How to Post During NaPoWriMo. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 14, 2017, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Not related to the prompt, and based off a pre-existing piece of work that I have been reading.

    You told me you hate me.
    Do you know how it tore me to pieces,
    How it crushed my entire being into nothing
    When you said I was a parasite?

    You were my best friend.
    You told me everything,
    From what lurks deep in your darkest soul,
    To the girl you replaced me with.

    You shattered my heart,
    Then left me alone to restore the pieces.
    It broke my mind in the process,
    And with your name on my lips, I jumped.

    You will never understand the pain
    That I was ending myself just for you,
    So you wouldn’t be bothered by me,
    Because for some reason, I still cared.

    Now you dare to run from me,
    Yet still try to get me alone to talk?
    You dare to feel shame and pain from my words,
    When I literally tried to kill myself for you?

  2. Gabriel Gonzalez

    written in ballad form

    Eclipse

    I saw the sunset in her eyes –
    ‘Twas like a molten gold –
    But little did I know that she
    Possessed a heart so cold

    For like the setting sun she was –
    Her light would soon eclipse;
    So too her love did fade, I learned:
    The passion left her lips

  3. This is my first time writing a sonnet 🙂

    I look at him with the most love I can muster
    He looks at me with a funny grin
    We always end up leaving things in a cluster
    I know with him I will always win
    My best friend will never perish
    He makes me smile through pain
    He is the one I will always cherish
    He always helps me remain sane
    He is with me through thick and thin
    He’s my best friend
    Always will be, always been
    I know our friendship will never bend
    Something that could never make me whine,
    The love between me and my canine

  4. *Unrelated to prompt*

    If people could fly,
    I am a kite,
    And you are the wind.

  5. (Not related to prompt)

    A coward I am
    To think of every outcome
    To follow every rule
    So that I can be safe,

    Ashamed I should be
    That I can’t live a little
    That I prefer to live inside my head
    That I worry in the smallest of circumstances,

    But little do you know
    That I’ve tried
    To free up my conscious
    Yet I worry still.

