NAPOWRIMO Day #17

Today’s prompt:

Write a poem about a pair of shoes.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Please read How to Post During NaPoWriMo. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 17, 2017, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. *Unrelated to prompt!*

    It was in a city, where their neon dreams were all so pretty,
    But that’s all they were, like broken bottles washed up upon the shore,
    And though some would protest, they were just like the rest,
    But they were all dressed to the nines.

  2. My converse.
    Black became grey.
    Splattered with pink, brown, and white.
    Trash them, not now, but one day I may.
    They are not just shoes to me, they took me to new heights.
    With them I ran miles,
    Saw new things.
    With them I walked freestyle,
    They were part of my swing.
    So they sit my closet for the occasional use.
    They still keep me footloose.

  3. This is unrelated to prompt, but it is my first time trying to write a pantoum poem! I hope I did it correctly!

    How do you do it? by Ava

    Just once I would like to know
    How you are happy all the time
    Through pain and sorrow
    Joy and anger

    How you are happy all the time
    It makes me feel inferior
    Joy and anger
    Is all I seem to feel

    It makes me feel inferior
    Everyday it
    Is all I seem to feel
    Your smile is too happy

    Everyday it
    Seems that
    Your smile is to happy
    And you conceal your true emotions

    Seems that
    You don’t think much of yourself
    And you conceal your true emotions
    You lie to make it better, but it only gets worse

    You don’t think much of yourself
    When will you learn?
    You lie to make it better, but it only gets worse
    Be yourself and you will be happy

    When will you learn?
    Through pain and sorrow
    Just once I would like to know
    Be yourself and you will be happy

  4. Worn from years of treading
    A world with places to see
    When I spent all my time looking up
    I never thought about the story surrounding my feet,

    A storybook with laces
    The aglets snapping against the ground
    What a marvelous object
    What a marvelous sound,

    Still there to take me
    To take me home-bound.

  5. Michelle Beaumont

    You are a storybook,
    a storybook with laces.
    You have seen more pain
    than any soul ever has.
    You are a storybook,
    with endless pages.

