The Arithmetic of Love by Gabriel

If math is the language of the universe,

Can it not explain all things?

Yet it cannot capture in a numerical verse

What poetry can in its alphabetical strings.

But alas, do not confuse me for a fool;

I will bring forth my theory for love,

Of which I will explain, perhaps with a few literary tools

And within the concrete confines of computation – kind of.

Just as one plus one equals two – as simple as such

The solution of me and you is a sum greater by much:

From forth our fertile loins, an infinite descendance –

The product of love – bounteous and transcendent.

Forgive me, if I do not sound sufficiently convincing.

Allow me to provide just one more example

That will – for sure – further stir your thinking.

I can assure, the latter was merely a sample.

Subtract one from two, and half is the resolution;

Take me away from you, and it results in twice our constitution –

See, our hearts would quickly break into two –

That would only be fair, for half my heart belongs to you.

However, I’m afraid I must concede

That there is only one exception

Where love is less than the counter-expression:

It is true, that two plus two equals four,

But add two others to our equation

And you would still be the one that I adore.

Posted on April 24, 2017, in Student Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh my goodness, this is incredible!! I loved it. 👍

  2. Wow! This is so good!!!

  3. This is amazing Gabriel! It is absolutely gorgeous, I loved it 🙂

  4. This is absolutely jaw dropping FANTASTIC job, Gabriel.

  5. This is so beautiful! Way to go!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  6. I LOVE IT

