NAPOWRIMO Day #25

Today’s prompt:

Write a poem about something you fear without naming this fear.

Post your poem to comments!

Reminders
Please read the NaPoWriMo page for details on how the challenge works  and how you can participate this month, no matter what your personal writing challenge is for the month of April. Please read How to Post During NaPoWriMo. Remember that work shared this month is shared in precisely that spirit: sharing, as opposed to critiquing.

Posted on April 25, 2017, in NaPoWriMo. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Madison Likens

    It’s an emptiness.
    But is it really?
    There’s an ache that exists, and you can be surrounded by amazing organisms and still feel it.
    That ache.
    That terrible, awful, remembering ache.
    It feel like you’re drowning in the midst of an oxygen bubble.
    Which doesn’t make sense; is the water imaginary? Is it all in my head?
    No, couldn’t be,
    Because even if I’m not drowning, no one’s popped the bubble just to see.

  2. Is anyone there?
    Look back and forth.
    It’s probably nothing but air.
    But I should check for what it’s worth.

    My heart is pumping so much blood caging in my fear.
    I feel it – it’s in here.
    I look up and see nothing but black.
    My hands get clammy as I feel as an attack.
    I search for it and I’m greeted with my heart jumping out from my chest.
    I can see clearly now but I refuse to rest.

  3. What is it that I have erroneously misplaced?
    Do I have leave a trail to retrace?
    Has my vision blurred?
    Am I walking life in a drunken slur?
    Do I spend too much time staring at the stars,
    that I forget what they are?
    Have I grown so used to silence,
    that even whispers seem violent?
    Is there something I’m lacking?
    Or is just my mind finally cracking?

  4. The sounds of laughter
    Filling my ears
    It’s me that they’re after
    Being risen from hurt and tears,
    They know what they do
    It’s all on purpose
    Those words are only few
    But they rise to the surface,
    I cannot understand
    And that’s what I fear
    Their harsh commands
    Are drawing near.

  5. I look around
    And see nothing
    I close
    And then open
    My eyes
    And see nothing
    I hide undercover
    And see nothing
    I cry silently to myself
    And hear something
    I don’t know what it was
    But it was something
    I can’t find my glasses
    I can’t find my vision
    I can hear my heart
    And everything going on outside
    I can hear breathing
    Footsteps
    Heartbeats
    Blood rushing
    Until finally…
    BANG
    I can’t see anything any longer

