Writing Prompt!

From Rosalind: Your character wakes up to find they have turned green. What happens next?

Write for 10 minutes. Post your piece to comments.

Posted on May 4, 2017, in Writing Prompt. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. had gotten out of bed that morning, sauntered over to the coffee machine, and that’s when I saw it. When my normally pale hands gripped the coffee pot I saw that they were in fact not pale, but GREEN! I shrieked, screamed, and blinked all at the same time. Thoughts of the last 24 hours rant through my head. At no point in the last 24 hours had I done anything unusual. No wishes on a star, no odd soaps or baths, and most definitely not anything that would turn me, ugh, I hate to say it, green. My heart started to slow. Okay. What to do? I picked up my phone and dialed 911. What if this was some infectious disease?
    “Hello, 911. What is your emergency?”
    “Umm, I’ve turned green.”
    beep. beep. beep.
    “Hello?”
    Great the operator hung up. Second option. I ran my hands under the water and watched as the green faded into blue. Well, at least blue is a color I can live with. I hopped the shower and let my whole body turn blue. When I got out of the shower and had wrapped myself in my robe, looked at myself in the mirror. I took a deep breathe to calm myself. I was blue. Suddenly the hilarity of that hit me and I laughed. I was blue.
    I turned my head. There was a knock on my door. I closed the distance between myself and the door quite easily, then tentatively cracked it open. My brother stood at the door. He took one look at me then burst out laughing, giving up what had happened immediately.
    I put my hands on my hips and said with thick sarcasm, “Okay, haha, how do you get it off?”
    He pulled out his phone and snapped a picture, then said through his laughs, “It wears off in about….” He laughed even harder. “… an hour!”
    My blue fist stopped his laughing real fast.

